Search Unity

Referencing a bool from a different script. [Solved]

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Joe_27, Feb 12, 2019.

1. Joe_27

Joe_27

I'm very new to Unity and code. I have a prefab projectile with a script attached called "Bullet". In that script there is a public bool called "stuck".

When the projectile hits a surface stuck = true. Otherwise stuck = false.

Script 1: The Bullet Script. This script works perfectly. I can see in the inspector on my prefab that stuck is checked or unchecked when it's on a wall, or not on a wall. I just want to use this bool information in a different script. But I can't figure out how.

Code (CSharp):
    3. public class Bullet : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    7. public bool stuck = false;
    9. void Start()
    11. {
    13. stuck = false;
    15. }
    17. private void OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)
    19.     {
    21.         if (collision.collider.CompareTag("Ground") || (collision.collider.CompareTag("Wall")))
    23.         {
    25.             rb.velocity = new Vector2(0, 0);
    26.             rb.angularVelocity = 0;
    28.             stuck = true;
    29. }
    31. }
    Script 2: My PlayerController.

This is where I want to know if my Prefab is stuck or not. I can't get it to trigger the Debug.Log... And it jams up my controls for some reason.

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    4. public Bullet bullet;
    6. void Start()
    7. {
    9. bullet = GetComponent<Bullet>();
    11. }
    13. void Update()
    14. {
    16. if (bullet.stuck == true)
    17. {
    18. Debug.Log("It's stuck")
    20. {
    22. }
    it recognizes the stuck from the other script. bullet.stuck isn't throwing any errors, but it won't actually let me know when it's stuck or not.