Search Unity

RectTransform modifications: Bug or workflow regression?

Discussion in 'Prefabs' started by CraigGraff, Oct 28, 2018.

  1. CraigGraff

    CraigGraff

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    In 2018.3.0b7, if you turn a UI element (such as Text) into a prefab, there appears to be no way to synch the prefab and the instance for properties like height and width. If you modify the RectTransform in the scene, there is no option to apply the change to the prefab (no properties show as being overridden or allow reversion to prefab as in previous versions of Unity). Conversely, if you modify the RectTransform If you modify the RectTransform in prefab mode (e.g. change the height or width), the scene does not receive the modification unless you remove the prefab and place it again (which was unnecessary in previous versions of Unity).

    Is this a bug (instance of RectTransform not updating based on prefab, nor acknowledging overrides, nor allowing reversion)? Or is it a workflow regression (having to re-instantiate the prefab to see the updates)? Or both?
     
  2. runevision

    runevision

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,615
    This is a feature called default overrides. It's by design (though not an ideal design) and not a regression. The same limitation was there in previous versions of Unity. Default overrides were shown in bold back then but still could not be reverted and wouldn't receive updates from the Prefab.

    See this thread for more information: https://forum.unity.com/threads/bug...-base-prefab-arent-propagated-variant.542161/

    We'd like to look into ways to address these use cases better but it won't be for 2018.3.
     
  3. runevision

    runevision

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,615