Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Recover from nuked install folder

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by M_R, Jun 5, 2018.

  1. M_R

    M_R

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    240
    Hi,
    I had to install an old version (5.2.3) that wasn't supported by Hub.
    I used a tool to install the version and move it away into '/Applications/Unity_5.2.3f1', then I also uninstalled it because I accidentally picked the wrong version (5.3.2)
    that tool moved away the entire '/Applications/Unity' folder, including '/Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor/*', then it deleted everything.

    from that point, the hub (0.17) was stuck with all the installs listed, but they weren't there so I couldn't even uninstall/remove them to install them again.

    I had to uninstall the hub, manually delete '~/Library/Application Support/UnityHub/' and reinstall to get it working again.

    I would appreciate if missing (and corrupt?) installations were recognized and there is an option to re-download/reinstall them or remove them from the list so I could install them again without nuking the Hub first

    edit:
    - tool in question: https://github.com/DragonBox/u3d
    - related issue: https://github.com/DragonBox/u3d/issues/315
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2018
  2. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    205
    Hi,

    Thank you for your feedback.
    Currently, the hub is checking its installation location(s) at the startup. So, if you remove an editor installed by hub manually, to see it gone from the hub, you need to quit and open hub again. To quit either you should use the tray menu or press cmd+q in mac.
    For the located versions (where you used the locate editor button), you should be able to remove them from the hub using the context menu dropdown in front of each editor.

    The reason that we don't automatically remove all the installations from the hub is the fact that many users install their editors in an external hard drive, and it may not be connected all the time. Removing the missing editors from the hub means they need to relocate all their editors again.

    I hope it answered your question.

    Best,
    Afshin