Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion “Recompile After Finished Playing” option is missing (or better say removed)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by pahe, Sep 13, 2022.

  1. Cuttlas-U

    Cuttlas-U

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    38
    Hey , is there any other way that does not require an update , our project is in very important phase and this issue is adding a lot of time to the testings process ,
    some one mentioned before unity do this there was a script for it , any one know about it ?

    also I asked chatGPT seems like there were api from before 2021 but now they are also been removed ,
     
  2. Thomas-Bousquet

    Thomas-Bousquet

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Tiny update, it took nearly 4 months ago since the original request to do so, but they finally added this to the Known Issue section in the Release Notes a couple of weeks ago in 2023.1.0b2 and 2021.3.18... it's still not acknowledged in the 2022 release notes :shrug:

    There's no update in the issue tracker since the code review of the proposed fix failed, so I'm gonna @jrdewsen just in case, but I don't have a lot of hope.
     
    Cuttlas-U and Novack like this.
  3. Kamyker

    Kamyker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,084
    And it's only "under consideration" for 2021. https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...ed-playing-and-auto-refresh-is-set-to-enabled
     
    Novack likes this.
  4. Thomas-Bousquet

    Thomas-Bousquet

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    In more news, I added a comment to the other issue (“Recompile And Continue Playing” setting is ignored when the "Auto Refresh” setting is set to “Disabled”) to bump it and behold, after 2 months of inactivity, it's finally gone from in-review to verified (on all version); and there's now an official issue for it UUM-27641.
    Vote on it if you can. Hopefully it won't take 4 months for it to go to the Known Issues and get addressed.
     
  5. xucian

    xucian

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    803
    no Unity 2022.1 support? 2022.2 is broken in many ways
     
    CloudyVR and daxiongmao like this.
  6. Khaeops

    Khaeops

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Posts:
    31
    Just discovered this today in 2022.1.20f1 and it's really messed me up. Hope it gets resolved soon.
     
    CloudyVR and Novack like this.
  7. restush96

    restush96

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Posts:
    130
    From 2021.3.15f to up everything was fine, start playing without fake recompile, edit a script while playing didn't stop the game with no errors, recompile after playing no need wait a second.

    Need to disable Reload Domain and Reload Scene tho.

    upload_2023-4-17_11-29-6.png
     
  8. xucian

    xucian

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    803
    no.
     
  9. Suduckgames

    Suduckgames

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Posts:
    218
    In unity 2021.3.24f1 you can use this feature that can help

    upload_2023-4-20_14-34-42.png
     
  10. Slashbot64

    Slashbot64

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Posts:
    289
    At this point I'd rather they just add a damn button that I manually click next to the play button (maybe a compile button with dropdown options) to compile when I decide.. its too damn frustrating wouldn't care but unity's iteration times are getting worse and the number of third party tools to have in project because so many areas of unity are just bleh

    it doesn't matter if you're making small changes or adding some new fields, or a lot of changes to multiple files its gonna just take a whole loada time...
     
    Novack and CloudyVR like this.
  11. goodnewsjimdotcom

    goodnewsjimdotcom

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    342
    It's funny, my game takes 16 seconds to compile, so I want to ninja edit stuff, but Unity also force alt tabs me.

    I found a way to defeat this problem completely, turn off asset refresh and make a script to launch unity,its earlier in this thread.

    You just reminded me of the where I want to get 10 seconds of coding in between compiles... and can't.