Search Unity

Recommend your favorite visual design/scripting tool!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tmcdonald, Mar 20, 2019.

1. tmcdonald

tmcdonald

Hi there!

I'm currently interested in finding an asset for Unity similar to Blueprints for Unreal Engine. I want something that I could use to visually organize finite state machines, behavior trees, and other node- or graph-based data structures. I am a programmer by trade (working in C#), so coding isn't an obstacle for me - ideally, this tool would allow me to create custom nodes (again, a la Blueprints.) This tool should ideally be geared equally toward designers as it is to programmers (with the tie going to the designer, if that makes sense) - if I am working with a game designer or artist, they should be able to use this tool to express themselves without needing me to guide them through the process.

I've been doing some research into PlayMaker, Bolt, and NodeCanvas/FlowCanvas. But without being able to try them before buying them, and not interested in just throwing around a couple hundred bucks to figure out which is right for me, I'm hoping that some of you have gotten a chance to play with one or more of these tools and can give me some pros and cons of each! Ideally I'd like a single tool that handles all use cases (wouldn't we all), but I understand that I might end up having to go with a combination, a la PlayMaker + BehaviorTrees + DialogueSystem.

Thank you so much for your time.

2. konsic

konsic

2019.2 will have own visual scripting tool

3. Ryiah

Ryiah

This, and it looks like it will function very similarly to the Visual Effects Graph.

UnityVS.png

4. tmcdonald

tmcdonald

Thank you!
    According to the devs, because it is being migrated to pure ECS (which is certainly exciting to me), the release of 2019.2 is delayed (I don't even think the visual scripting is in the current alpha.)

https://forum.unity.com/threads/uni...cripting-in-2019-2.577084/page-2#post-4146832