Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Recenter To Target Heading stops working after cut

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by mradfo21, May 11, 2018.

  1. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    hey guys,

    I'm using a camera for core gameplay based around Recenter To Target Heading to always slide into place behind the character. This is on a Free Look Camera.

    upload_2018-5-11_11-18-47.png

    Now I have my dynamic cutscenes spawn a timeline with other vcams and enable / disable them to create this dynamic moment anywhere in the world. BUT when i transition out (deactivate the other cameras then eventaully delete them), the Heading never functions again on the original camera. But I've touched nothing about that camera that whole time. I'm so confused. Is there anything I should know about this Heading, anyway through script to force it to work again?

    heres a video. You can see it smoothly follows before. Then i use other vcams, then it never works again.

     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,636
    Can I see the full inspector for the FreeLook in question? And also the inspector for the brain after the heading stops working.
     
  3. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    here is a vid of it ocurring with the free look:


    and here is it ocurring inspecting the brain:
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,636
    Well, it's very strange, I've never seen anything like that before. I can see that the Y axis is still moving on the freeLook, but not the x axis. You can try to narrow it down by putting dome debug logs in the FreeLook, to monitor the axes. What happens it you set both axes to have the Y input name? Do they both move then? What happens if you turn off the recentering?
     
  5. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    The only solution Ive found is to disable to the gameobject running that freelook and re-enable it. It creates a pop, but then the heading starts working again.

    there must be a script call to like re-setup the camera i can call maybe?
     
  6. mradfo21

    mradfo21

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    my solution to this btw if anyone hits this problem. call this when you need to "reset":

    public void Wiggle(){
    slowCamera.gameObject.SetActive(false);
    fastCamera.gameObject.SetActive(false);
    zoomCamera.gameObject.SetActive(false);
    Invoke("WigglePt2", .001f);

    }
    void WigglePt2(){
    slowCamera.gameObject.SetActive(true);
    fastCamera.gameObject.SetActive(true);
    zoomCamera.gameObject.SetActive(true);
    }



    and it all fixes itself