Search Unity

Rebuild Entity Cache gone? How to rebuild the entity Cache on SubScenes?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by BerndEissing, Feb 13, 2020.

1. BerndEissing

BerndEissing

Hey I recently started programming in Unity and wanted to use ECS right from the beginning. I followed this guide:
    on how to set up a rotating cube.

Versions:
    Unity: 2020.1.0a22.2822
    Burst: 1.2.2
    Entities: 0.5.1
    Hybrid Renderer: 0.3.3
    Jobs: 0.2.4
    Mathematics: 1.1.0
    Unity Physics: 0.2.5

At 20:21 he tries to play the game and the cube doesn't rotate and as a solution he "rebuilds the entity cache"
    as shown in this picture:

Rebuild_Entity_Cache.png

But this Option is missing in my Inspector. So my first questions is how do I rebuild the entity cache?

My other problem, or bug, is that any changes made to the attached script on the Entity in the SubScene are not showing up. Take this picture for example:

Unity_View.png

I have a Cube inside my sub scene "Cube". If I understand correctly this Cube is an Entity itself. The Script Rotate Autoring could also be called Rotate Component to represent the "Component" in "ECS" I think.

So selecting the Cube while the "Cube" sub scene is in "Edit" mode shows the following data in the Inspector:

Cube_Selected.png

Hightlighted in red is the ComponentData that I added manually via the Rotate Authoring script. Here is the script:

Rotate_Component.png

When I make changes to this Script and "close" the "Cube" sub scene. The changes are not applied to the entity. Take the following change for example:

Rotate_Component_new_Rotation.png

If I go back to Unity, "close" the "Cube" sub scene and selecy my Entity it is missing the RotationEulerYXZ in the Inspector. And if I create a System now that wants to access my new value it wont find it in my Entity.