Search Unity

Reasons for using a Get Accessor instead of an If Statement in C#

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by segasega89, Oct 21, 2019.

1. segasega89

segasega89

I'm a beginner to C# and I recently downloaded a Unity 2D platformer project off of Github. I'm trying to understand some of the coding inside of the project files for the player game object as I'm interested in learning how the physics in the game were created. The current bit of code that I'm trying to understand is shown below:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class Movement : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     enum GroundMode
    7.     {
    8.         Floor,
    9.         RightWall,
    10.         Ceiling,
    11.         LeftWall,
    12.     }
    14.     public Animator animator;
    16.     public bool grounded { get; private set; }
    17.     public bool rolling { get; private set; }
    18.     public bool jumped { get; private set; }
    20.     // General
    21.     public float standingHeight = 40f;
    22.     public float ballHeight = 30f;
    23.     private float heightHalf
    24.     {
    25.         get
    26.         {
    27.             if (rolling || jumped) { return ballHeight / 2f; }
    28.             else { return standingHeight / 2f; }
    29.         }
    30.     }

I believe I'm right in thinking that the code is saying that if the player game object is jumping or rolling it will return the ballHeight variable divided by "2f"? Otherwise the value of standingHeight will be returned divided by "2f"?

Can I ask why is a "Get Accessor" used in this case instead of just a simple if statement? For example:

if (rolling || jumped) {
    heightHalf = ballHeight / 2f;
    }else{
    heightHalf = standingHeight / 2f;
    }

Any helpful information would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker