Search Unity

reasonable approach to a sims-like game architecture using ECS ?

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by PalmGroveSoftware, Nov 23, 2018.

1. PalmGroveSoftware

PalmGroveSoftware

Hello Unity3D community !
    From Morocco and a total beginner to all things ECS, it's been only a week so far of reading docs, scouring the web for tutorials, catching up with what is going deprecated and overall loving all the stellar work put into it from the whole team !
    The project I am trying to realise for years now was always started, delayed, rebooted, but never managed to make much progress on it, mostly because gigs to keep things going and skill a bit ( using unity since 2012 or so..), and also because combinatory explosion and OOP design ill suited for this kind of simulation with many states/subsets/objects dependencies and coupling..
    for years i've been hitting walls, and it's been only a week and I can already feel the anchor going away with the strong decoupling old C fashioned style and planning on going full steam ahead with the new pradaigm now.
    This is also the first time I use any kind of forum thread, so that's progress in itself I guess until I go full parallelism haha
    I am still not sure at all also if I start with pure ECS for the simulation side/learning phase or if an hybrid approach might be more appropriate for my current skill level, as I could use some familiar territory..but nothing set in stone yet for animation, presentation ( why is kinematica so far away ? :p ) and visible progress onscreen, but text could still do just fine.