Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

RealToon (An AAA Toon/Anime Shader and Stylized)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by MJQStudioWorks, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    It seems there's a problem when building on ios.
    i'll check this.

    I recommend you send an email at "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com".
    i'll help you further there.

    Update:
    I did an iOS build and test.
    There's no compiler error and it is successfully build.

    *Try to re-import realtoon then close the unity and reopen it and load your project.

     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  2. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Thank you for providing the info.
    It seems there's a problem when building on ios.

    I'll check this.

    i recommend you send an email at "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com".
    i'll help you further there.

    About the warnings,
    Nevermind it.

    Update:
    I did an iOS build and test.
    There's no compiler error and it is successfully build.

    *Try to re-import realtoon then close unity and reopen it and load your project

     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  3. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    (To those who updated to/have RealToon V5.0.4 and uses URP)

    I recommend not to update your URP package to 7.1.1 yet, because it will cause a "RealToon Default" compile error.
    A minor update will be release later to fix this.
     
  4. toyhunter

    toyhunter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    @MJQStudioWorks

    Thanks for your follow up. Did what you suggested but still the same.
    Is there any setting within Unity regarding to the error produced? Especially relating to "_ShadowCoord"? Appreciated if you could give us some insights, thanks again.

    More info:
    Compiling Vertex program with UNITY_PASS_FORWARDADD DIRECTIONAL SHADOWS_SHADOWMASK L_F_SS_ON
    Platform defines: UNITY_NO_DXT5nm UNITY_NO_RGBM UNITY_FRAMEBUFFER_FETCH_AVAILABLE UNITY_NO_CUBEMAP_ARRAY UNITY_NO_SCREENSPACE_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF2 SHADER_API_MOBILE UNITY_HARDWARE_TIER2 UNITY_COLORSPACE_GAMMA UNITY_LIGHTMAP_DLDR_ENCODING

    * Update (workaround):
    ==================
    I found a workaround to bypass the above issue:

    1. Project Settings > Graphics > Press "Clear" button at the bottom right corner,
    2. Build iOS
    3. Succeeded without error.

     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
  5. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    Thanks for providing the result.
    Try to create a new project and import realtoon,
    let me know if the error occur or not.

    *I did another test here and no compile errors occur.

    Send your reply at "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com".
    i'll help you futher there.

     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
  6. toyhunter

    toyhunter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    I created an empty Scene, with the same project, added an existing gameobject with Realtoon Lite, Press "Clear" button, build iOS, no error occurred.

    Therefore I found the workaround :)

     
    andreiagmu and MJQStudioWorks like this.
  7. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    Thanks for the result.
    I noticed that you updated your post, it's about workaround.
    I'm glad you found one. :)

    If you find/notice another errors just send an email at "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com".

     
    toyhunter likes this.
  8. Lune

    Lune

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    I LOVE THIS SHADER!!! i did some tests with it and its incredible! even the LWRP version is flawless!!

    Any plans in adding baked lightmaps support??
     
  9. Hibito555

    Hibito555

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    I am interested in buying.
    But I need to compare the model render after and before,Can you give me image? Such as annex
    thank you very much!



     
  10. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi Hibito555,
    Here's a before and after.

    Comparison.png


     
  11. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi, Lune
    Thank you for using RealToon.

    I already thought or planned too add that baked lightmap support but it will really take time for me to add it for some reasons.
    I already post a WIP preview video of it last year.

    Video:


     
    andreiagmu, Frais254 and Acissathar like this.
  12. ILoveMyDada

    ILoveMyDada

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Is there any way you could update this shader to be able to add textures if you apply it to Terrain?
     
  13. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    As of now i couldn't make it compatible with Terrain yet, but i already planned to make another realtoon shader for environment but it might take some time for me to make and implement it like the lightmap support.

    For now use the unity default terrain shaders for environment or other terrain environment shader.
    If you are going to use unity terrain.

     
    andreiagmu likes this.
  14. skrx1

    skrx1

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Hello, RealToon5.05 is in 2019.2.6, Lite->Default, all displayed in black when exporting Android.
    Please fix it.

     
  15. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi 250951450,
    Is the ground is plane object or flat?
    If it is, disable the outline if you are not using it,
    If you are using outline for your ground/floor try to adjust the "Outline Z Position In Camera" or the "Outline Offset".

    Send an email at "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com" if it is still black.

     
  16. skrx1

    skrx1

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    I am using a "plane object", this setting is still not working, but using: Lite-Fade Transparency is normal.



     
  17. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Thanks for providing the info, i'll look into this.
    I'll reply back to you right away once i found the cause of this problem.


     
  18. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    I did a test here, there's no problem or black present.
    here's a screenshot on my android device.

    Screenshot_2019-10-02-00-59-11.png


    *Try to enable and disable outline twice and try to adjust the outline to negative values.

    *It is possible to you to send the plane object you use for the ground to me?
    I'll test it here, i'll delete it once done.

    Please send it to "mjqstudioworks@gmail.com" not here.

     
  19. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    (Update)

    Hi everyone,
    HDRP is already out of preview as i checked on Unity Hub - 2019.2.0,
    no "preview" word.
    I can start working on a RealToon HDRP Version,
    But it is not easy and it will really take time for me to finish this.

    I'll try my best to maintain the same features and shades like the LWRP/URP version.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    Acissathar likes this.
  20. CRISTALSONIC

    CRISTALSONIC

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Posts:
    136
    have you considered making a terrain shader to match up to the characters / objects ?
     
  21. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi CRISTALSONIC,
    I already planned to make a environment realtoon shader but it might take time for me to make this and finish.

     
  22. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    (RealToon HDRP version update)

    Hi everyone i already started working on it and i finally got the directional light working,
    The shadows there is colored and realtime.

    Next to work on is the point lights and other hdrp lights support.

    FB_IMG_1570159065361.jpg
     
    iChuy and Acissathar like this.
  23. CRISTALSONIC

    CRISTALSONIC

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Posts:
    136
    cool , it will be nice to see when it is done :)
     
  24. Hibito555

    Hibito555

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    The Miku dance on youtube is amazing
    But Unity is the game engine,I hope to have Blender with realtoon for Image render and Anime render.
    Can you develop ? thank you very much
     
  25. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi Hibito555,
    You can actually render at higher res and quality in unity3d, just download/import unity recorder.
    For anti-aliasing use the PPS or any 3rd party AA.
    For higher quality shadow, use the custom shadow resolution included on the realtoon package.

    I already tried to create a custom shader on blender by using the nodes, it supports all lights and ambient light like realtoon but the problem is the ambient light when using texture.

    i use eevee not the cycle one.

     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  26. toyhunter

    toyhunter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    @MJQStudioWorks

    Just wanna thanks for your great asset that make my game characters looks fantastic! People asking which asset i used...

     
  27. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi toyhunter,

    No problem :)
    It looks beautiful. *two-thumbs up*

    (MJQ Studio Works)

     
  28. Hobodi

    Hobodi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Posts:
    102
    Hello ! Is there any news about vertex version? Will it be?
     
  29. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi Hobodi,

    As of now i haven't plan to make vertex version.
    Vertex version is not priority for RealToon because of the shade.

    (MJQ Studio Works)

     
  30. rocksockm

    rocksockm

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Hello! I would like to know if it's possible to cast shadows from an object that has translucency or alpha defined < 1. I can't figure out how to make a material translucent without using "Fade Transparency", but that makes the object lose its shadows.

    Thank you and sorry if this has been covered already!
     
  31. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi rocksockm,

    You can only do translucency by using "RealToon Fade Transperancy".
    To do that, adjust the "Opacity" option.

    It can cast shadow.

     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  32. Acissathar

    Acissathar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Posts:
    677
    With regards to upgrading to URP, can we remove the old SRP shaders and files or are those necessary?
     
  33. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi Acissathar,
    You can remove it, you can even just import the SRP package you want to use.
    be sure you have a back-up of your project as always.

     
    Acissathar likes this.
  34. Zankaster

    Zankaster

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,
    could you please provide the exact steps to make the package work on a blank LWRP/URP project? I tried with both 2019.2.9 and 2019.3.0, for the LWRP I imported first the 2 packages under the [Others/For Unity 2019 and Later] folder, and then the package under [RealToon SRP/LWR], but the objects do not render, and in the console I get errors such as

    Shader properties can't be added to this global property sheet. Trying to add _GrabTexture_HDR (type 1 count 1)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.ScriptableRuntimeReflectionSystemWrapper:Internal_ScriptableRuntimeReflectionSystemWrapper_TickRealtimeProbes(Boolean&)

    I also updated LWRP to 6.9.2 but nothing changes.
    Thank you
     
  35. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi asters,
    What realtoon version are you using?,
    it should work on those SRP especially the latest update.
    For URP, the recommended version is 7.1.1 or newer version.

    You need to extract the package/s.
    You don't need to import the realtoon shader for unity's built-in rp/old rp, just import the SRP packages.

    The error that you get is a unity3d bug which will just gone away.
    RealToon Refraction uses GrabPass and don't work on SRP (LWRP/URP) because it uses the unity built-in RP/old RP.

    Here are some import test:

    (LWRP)
    LWRP.png

    (URP)
    URP.png


     
  36. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
  37. Zankaster

    Zankaster

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry if I took so long to answer, it is working now, I expected at least an example scene working with the new RPs and that's why I assumed it didn't at first (seeing everything pink), but creating a new Sphere and adding a material with the right shader like you did works. And for the URP there was the additional detail that when you create a new project, it creates a URP profile but with High Quality settings, so it does not work until you switch to the Low or Medium Quality.
    Thank you for the support.
     
    MJQStudioWorks likes this.
  38. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi asters,
    I'm glad it is working now. :)
    No problem and thank you for using realtoon.

     
  39. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    To those who are using or testing unity 2020.1.0aX,
    RealToon can be use or run.
     
  40. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi everyone,
    To those who are in RealToon v5.0.5 or updated to that version.
    I recommend you to re-update it by going to your "My Assets" then click Update/Download and re-import.
     
  41. TobiasStaerk

    TobiasStaerk

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi! I work at a studio where we use the realtoon shader and it is fantastic so far. Any update on the lightmap support? This would really help as we would like to use it on a ton of static models too.

    Cheers, Tobi
     
  42. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi,
    About the lightmap support, the status is still in W.I.P until now because of some unity lightmap limitations, i'm still finding some ways to make that limitations to possible for realtoon.

    As of now you can use "ShadowT" for static shadow just apply a baked shadow to it and "SelfLit" for static illumination with mask, and disable the features you dont really need to use like "Self Shadow", "Gloss" or any dynamic features.

     
    Starpaq2 likes this.
  43. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    (Announcement)
    Next update RealToon v5.0.6
     
  44. RamzaB

    RamzaB

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    I am also wondering about how this shader was authored in the first place. I looked at the shaders and saw a lot of variables with node_XXX names, which obviously are not friendly for human to read :)
    Can you please elaborate a bit ?
     
  45. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi everyone,
    Next update is v5.0.6,
    There are some new options, improvements and fix one typo.
     
    Starpaq2 likes this.
  46. TokyoWarfareProject

    TokyoWarfareProject

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    815
    Hello, I've just aquired.
    I did not expect so good results, I'm impresed.
    upload_2019-12-6_21-4-20.png

    This is only on tank and the floor.
    ----------------------------------------
    Sadly I noticed issues.
    Whe I apply materials I do in runtime, only for testing,when they're distant they show pink and when I get closer they show correct, I also tested to apply materials in editor and enter runtime.

    Building has toon shader:
    upload_2019-12-6_21-6-12.png

    closer distance it shows ok
    upload_2019-12-6_21-6-39.png


    Road pink on distance
    upload_2019-12-6_21-7-6.png

    Road Ok on closer distance
    upload_2019-12-6_21-7-26.png

    I'm using 2019.3 b12 and lateste toon, I also added the
    "RealToon V5.0.5 (2019 and Later)" unitypackage.

    May be it is because of lightmaps?
     
  47. TokyoWarfareProject

    TokyoWarfareProject

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    815
    After more testing I can confirm the glitch only affects the lightmapped objects.
    So, my lightmaps have shadowmask, so they've two maps, indirect and direct.
    While only indirect lightmap (close) is active, there is no glitch, but distant, when direct lightmap is used there is glitch.

    I added the shader to a lightmapped container and to non lightmaped and only the lightmaped one glitched.

    I would beg to please add support for this.
     
  48. TokyoWarfareProject

    TokyoWarfareProject

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    815
    may be as a temporary fix you could make shader ignore the lightmap for direct lighting and leave indirect lightmap as it does work.
     
  49. tempaccount555

    tempaccount555

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Is ZWrite functional on the Transparent/Fade shaders? The entire material I set to Fade becomes transparent instead of the masked areas and it even screws up the layering.

    If I change the ZWrite value in debug view, there is no effect.
     
  50. MJQStudioWorks

    MJQStudioWorks

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    666
    Hi TokyoWarfareProject,
    I send a conversation to you, please check your inbox.

     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2019