Search Unity

Realtime point lights in VR

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Keaneo, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Keaneo

Keaneo

Hi,
    We have a multiplayer game with a mix of indoor/outdoor scenes and are trying to use as much static/baked lighting as possible to keep performance up in VR. However, players can create objects that would benefit from realtime lighting for short bursts (e.g. flamethrowers, handheld torches, etc.). Just to cast tinted light and shadows if possible.

Could someone please advise us on:

1) If this is even a good idea - we don't want to kill performance if 10 players each suddenly create a realtime point light!
    2) What's the lighting setup? "Forward rendering" seems to be preferred for VR, but "deferred" is the suggestion for "lots of lights".

We'd really appreciate any advice/articles on how to set it all up.

Thanks!

2. StickyHoneybuns

StickyHoneybuns

So, I am no expert in this by any means and I am pretty much in the same boat as you. However, I will give my advice on what I am currently doing.

All of my lighting is indoor at this point with the majority of my objects as static objects, therefore I bake most of my lighting. Like most games though the player is non static and therefore needs to cast realtime shadows. This is particularly important for VR to give the player more immersion.

So, right now I am using mixed lighting so that I get the majority of items baked and the player and enemies will cast dynamic shadows. To make sure performance is good I am going to make sure a certain percentage of lights are occluded at all times. Therefore the scene from the players perspective will only have 3-4 lights on them at any given time.

Currently I am using forward rendering but probably don't have as many lights as you do. Now, my methods could change over time as I experiment more with the lighting.