Search Unity

"Realtime indirect bounce shadowing is not supported for spot and point lights" - Updates?

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by castor, Dec 13, 2018.

1. castor

castor

With the release of 2018.3, I'm wondering what is the official status on this specific issue?
    I've been using realtime GI on my current project for two years now, but due to this limitation, I always run into issues with light bleeding in small interior environments with thin walls that rely on point lights.

What I'm wondering is:
    • Is the support for real-time indirect bounce shadowing for spot and point lights ever going to be implemented? Or is it just something technically unfeasible in the foreseeable future.
    • If not, are there workaround or solutions in place if someone wants to use real-time GI in closed spaces? (maybe a Unity Asset, or some other workflow that has recently been released)

Salvador-Romero likes this.
  2. fguinier

fguinier

Unity Technologies

It is technically perfectly doable. It fact is in the backlog but so far was always bumped away by other priorities.
    None that i'm aware of but i would be happy to be wrong: ie SEGI https://forum.unity.com/threads/segi-fully-dynamic-global-illumination.410310/ does not support point and spot light according to there release note.

3. castor

castor

Thanks for the quick reply. What could I do to bump the priority?

SEGI unfortunately is no longer being developed and as far as I'm aware there are no other solutions around.

Also is there anyone at Unity I could show what we are doing and see what we can do to minimize issues in the meantime?

4. Salvador-Romero

Salvador-Romero

Hi, and thank you very much for the conversation.

I've been through the roadmap and found no reference to this in the to-do task nor the archive. Could you please share some updated info about it? This feature is very important for architecture vizualization with dynamic lighting, for example.

Thanks!

5. KEngelstoft