Search Unity

Re-using assets across projects WITHOUT import/export. Is it possible??

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by shakenbake444, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. shakenbake444

    shakenbake444

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I find re-using assets across projects is quite a pain through the export/import methodology. It's not a quick process. If i do one export then import into a new project, I'll likely later on want another tool i made for a previous project in the new one making me have to do another export and import. It would be great if assets are just created in a "community" folder and meta data stored elsewhere. This way i can just go grab what i need when i need it quickly. Is there a way to do this?
     
  2. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,467
  3. shakenbake444

    shakenbake444

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    so if you're pointing me to the export package page then i suppose the answer to my question is no. I'm trying to avoid the exporting route.
     
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,467
    Sorry, I misread. I thought you were having issues with the Asset Store import process on each project.
     
  5. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14,555
    You can skip the export process by dragging files into Unity through File Explorer.
     
  6. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    8,203
    If you're on a Mac, you can also make symbolic links to your assets stored elsewhere (in another project, or in some Common Assets folder, or whatever). I do this in many of my projects, and it works fine.
     
    shakenbake444, JeffDUnity3D and Ryiah like this.
  7. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14,555
    shakenbake444 and JoeStrout like this.
  8. shakenbake444

    shakenbake444

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    oh wow. This is a quicker way for sure. Although it still makes me have to remember to create a link to any new tools i create it's way better than exporting. Thanks to both of you!
     
  9. NGC6543

    NGC6543

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    197
    what about git submodule or subtree...?

    And I remember an article about Unity dev warning the use of symlink in the project. If you insist, be sure to check that out before trying
     
  10. shakenbake444

    shakenbake444

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    8