Search Unity

Raymarching in HDRP: Custom post-process vs. custom render pass?

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by beaugunderson, Sep 11, 2020.

1. beaugunderson

beaugunderson

Hi there--I'm pretty new to Unity and trying to port some code I had that worked with Post-Processing 2.0 to HDRP.

I'm a little confused as to when to use an HDRP custom post-process vs. an HDRP custom render pass.

Which is more correct for rendering objects defined completely in a shader, e.g. to render signed distance fields using raymarching?

2. beaugunderson

beaugunderson

Well, after trying trying hundreds of combinations of parameters to generate world-space rays in a custom post-process volume I gave up and decided to try a custom render pass--within about 5 minutes I had it working. Will update here when I write up the process.

3. Olmi

Olmi

Hi @beaugunderson,
    ScreenSpaceReflections.compute has code snippets where you see how to get world space position and view direction if I remember correctly.

These should be enough to construct a a world position and a ray direction for raymarching.

beaugunderson likes this.
  4. beaugunderson

beaugunderson

Thanks @Olmi; that's a great pointer. I have the view direction calculation just fine in an HDRP custom pass but no amount of messing with the math allowed me to get it working correctly in an HDRP custom post-process. I think using the custom pass is fine for my needs, though, but I'm still interested in pros/cons of the two approaches for adding raymarched objects.

5. beaugunderson

beaugunderson

6. Olmi

Olmi

I've made a simple raymarcher sometime last year, I made it as custom post processing effect.I don't think there should be much difference, it's mosty depending on having the correct data I think. I wonder what you did wrong.

7. beaugunderson

beaugunderson