Search Unity

Raycast misses custom mesh collider

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by jonwah00, Jan 16, 2020.

1. jonwah00

jonwah00

Hi,

Firstly; I am new to game development, and DOTS/Physics, so I'm not sure if I'm even taking the right approach here, but I would appreciate any help anyone can give.

I'm attempting to procedurally generate a 3D world which consists of hexagons wrapped into a cylinder. I've tried a few different approaches, but at the moment I'm doing it by generating a unique mesh for each hexagon cell, with the vertices at world positions, and 0 translation. Note, I did try the same with a 'single' mesh and translating/rotating each one correctly, but it gave me small render bugs where each hex met.

Anyway; that's working, and now I'm attempting to raycast to touch each hex. I have created a mesh collider for each mesh, then do a Unity.Physics collision world CastRay to find the hit entity.

It does work - but is inaccurate. I've verified the ray direction/length is correct (with Debug.DrawRay), so I suspect the collider mesh might be out of sync with the real mesh?

If that image doesn't work, link: https://imgur.com/a/xSufyDc

Here's the creation of the mesh collider (vertices, triangles are the verts/indices from each mesh created):

Code (CSharp):
    2.                     using (var positions = new NativeArray<float3>(vertices, Allocator.Temp)) {
    3.                         using (var indices = new NativeArray<int>(triangles, Allocator.Temp)) {
    5.                             var collider = Unity.Physics.MeshCollider.Create(positions, indices);
    7.                             entityManager.SetComponentData(cell, new PhysicsCollider {
    8.                                 Value = collider
    9.                             });
    10.                         }
    11.                     }

So; a couple of questions:

What could be causing this?