Search Unity

Raycast causing confusing error

Discussion in 'Physics' started by JackMySon, Jun 9, 2018.

1. JackMySon

JackMySon

So I'm guessing the solution to my problem is something very simple, but I can't for the life of me figure it out.

I have a fairly long and overly complex shooting system, I know, but I'm not very experienced and just wanted to quickly practice making a 2d game. The error I'm getting is on line 123 (bolded) and says there "object not set to an instance of an object". I've done a lot of testing and it only appears to happen when the raycast hits nothing, so I've tried putting all sorts of methods to prevent the error, but I still get one.

This code here is what I use for shooting:

IEnumerator ShotgunShoot()
    {
    isShoot = false;
    RaycastHit hit;
    Physics.Raycast(muzzle.transform.position, muzzle.transform.up, out hit, 10f);
    var bullet = Instantiate(bulletTracer, muzzle.transform.position, Quaternion.Euler(0, 0, (player.transform.localEulerAngles.z + 90)));
    bullet.transform.SetParent(player.transform, true);
    Destroy(bullet, 0.1f);
    rb.velocity = -muzzle.transform.up * knockback * Time.deltaTime;
    [B] if (hit.collider.gameObject.CompareTag("Player") && hit.collider.gameObject != player && hit.collider != null)[/B]
    {
    if (hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<Player1Move>().hasShield)
    {
    hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<Player1Move>().shield -= 20;
    }
    else
    {
    hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<Player1Move>().health -= 20;
    }

StartCoroutine(hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<Player1Move>().ShowHealth());
    if (hit.collider.gameObject.GetComponent<Player1Move>().health <= 0)
    {
    kills++;
    GameManager.playersLeftAlive.Remove(hit.collider.gameObject);
    }
    }
    else if (hit.collider.gameObject.tag != "Player")
    {
    hitEffects.transform.position = hit.point;
    hitEffects.GetComponent<ParticleSystem>().Play();
    }
    else
    {
    isShoot = true;