Search Unity

Ray Marching volumetric rendering generates strange noise

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by vinicius-ras, May 24, 2017.

1. vinicius-ras

vinicius-ras

Hi,

I've been trying to implement a volumetric rendering algorithm based on the Ray Marching technique.
    I have been trying to implement something very simple, as in the following tutorial:
    http://graphicsrunner.blogspot.com.br/2009/01/volume-rendering-101.html

My ultimate goal is to load medical (DICOM) data and display it in Unity... Unfortunately, I am just a beginner in shader programming, and although I've had some interesting results lately, they are still glitchy, so I hope you guys can help me find what am I doing wrong here...

Okay, so my approach follows the idea of the tutorial I've linked above: a multi-pass shader, where I render the back-faces and the front faces of a cube, storing the positions of the generated fragments in each pass to calculate the "rays" that intercept that cube. Then I use these rays and their orientations to sample a 3D texture and perform the "Ray Marching" algorithm to try to generate the final image "inside" the cube.

Things are working, but not perfectly: my redering generates some artifacts. I am generating a 3D texture of size 128x128x128, it is all black and inside of it there is a 64x64x64 white cube... Here's the generating code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    3. public class Texture3DTester : MonoBehaviour {
    4.     public static Texture3D GenerateProceduralTexture( int texSize )
    5.     {
    6.         Texture3D generatedTex = new Texture3D(texSize, texSize, texSize, TextureFormat.RGBA32, false);
    8.         Color[] texColors = new Color[texSize * texSize * texSize];
    9.         for (int z = 0; z < texSize; z++)
    10.         {
    11.             for (int y = 0; y < texSize; y++)
    12.             {
    13.                 for (int x = 0; x < texSize; x++)
    14.                 {