Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Ratspell MMO Toolkit

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by erenaydin, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365


    Hello,
    I'm the producer of Ratspell MMO Toolkit.
    Actually this is a working MMO Game you will edit. In fact you can play the game on LAN at http://www.ratspell.com

    Also check the product on Unity Asset Store Ratspell MMO Toolkit

    And , watch the trailer :


    an old gameplay video of Ratspell Game (not from the toolkit. Ratspell was a game when we made it a toolkit)
    http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=160812910658039

    Here is a basic starting video


    and here is a advanced starting video (detailed)


    If there any question or problem contact us at erencik.aydincik@gmail.com
    but please read the documents of Toolkit Guide at http://www.ratspell.com first.

    // Post Update :
    Look at the attached screenshots of Ratspell Game made with this toolkit.

    Regards,
    Eren AYDIN
    bisaniyehocam Producer
     

    Attached Files:

    • $11.jpg
      $11.jpg
      File size:
      103.1 KB
      Views:
      10,644
    • $33.jpg
      $33.jpg
      File size:
      86 KB
      Views:
      12,884
    • $55.jpg
      $55.jpg
      File size:
      66.8 KB
      Views:
      10,946
    • $22.jpg
      $22.jpg
      File size:
      87.4 KB
      Views:
      10,975
    • $66.jpg
      $66.jpg
      File size:
      81.4 KB
      Views:
      10,617
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  2. MTracerStudios

    MTracerStudios

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Posts:
    118
    What are the networking specs?
     
  3. phex

    phex

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Posts:
    725
    The dreams of 14 years old kids may come true - if they can spent the money :)

    You should post this on the collaboration section as well.

    Good work, i wish you a lot of sales.
     
  4. LaneFox

    LaneFox

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    Indeed, this is a much needed kit.
     
  5. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    I use default networking of Unity. That means also Unity-Free version can use this toolkit.
    And when the game was online , we was playing with about 20kb/s.
    But I cannot be clearly about networking specifications.

    @Phex
    Yeah. That was a dream for me too when I was a child :)
    Thanks for the good wish.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
  6. PrimeDerektive

    PrimeDerektive

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,071
    Unity's raknet networking != MMO. You probably shouldn't advertise it as such.
     
  7. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    If you try the demo at the website , you will see it's possible.
    I hope I will continue this project when I get Unity-Pro but with Raknet again.
     
  8. Thunderent

    Thunderent

    Pocket Artist

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Posts:
    435
    Good work...I think you will get a lot of sales!

    Expect a rising number of MMOs made by kids in the next months :D
     
  9. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Thanks,
    But no Paypal anymore on Unity Asset Store , so kids may can't buy this :)

    //paypal is online again :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  10. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Hy i whant to buy it but i need to have same information abount the pack

    1. is they save into a database and whant database? exemple MySQL
    2.is posssible to change the characther view.
    3. in the pack will be a a character creation
    4.exp system
    5. PVP player vs Player??

    will be there included into Pack
     
  11. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    1 - Accounts and Characters(Save/Load) saves to system registry by using PlayerPrefs.
    2 - Yes It's easy just change it you know.
    3 - Not exactly. Every account = 1 character.
    4 - No.
    5 - Yes. We already made this game for PvP. You can see this on the trailer at 2:30
     
  12. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    at my quest 3 can be possible to do to ccreate more charcters for account?
     
  13. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Of course you can , but don't forget this is not an easy thing. You have to go to deeps of the toolkit.
     
  14. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    and if I asked you to change it a little for me, of course, would you pay more the pack
     
  15. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    You ask me re-develop the toolkit :)
    Let me give some advice you , nobody can't give you a ready game if you don't pay good. You have to learn , edit and develop to create a mmo game like you think.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  16. brown2na

    brown2na

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Some clarification on this? Raknet is unity pro only correct? or and how many users can be supported on this project?
     
  17. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Raknet is useable on Unity Free too.
    I think 100+ players make lag if the player's connection speed is lower than 100kb/s.
    In my opinion , the server must limit by 100 players and 50 monsters. (50 monsters take about 10kb/s , 100 players may take 120kb/s total)
     
  18. sleglik

    sleglik

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    682
    This limit is for one scene or whole game?
     
  19. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    That's for one game server so whole game.
    If needed , the developer have to create a new game server and add it to client.
    But you can make maximum players unlimited. But as I said 100+ players make lag on a 100kb/s internet connection.
     
  20. brown2na

    brown2na

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    I saw a screen shot of a mmo you where making with this..maybe update a little more of the thread with screen shots from your game to show a little more graphically what you can do with this for those slackers like me who post from work :D
     
  21. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Yes, you right. Thread needs some screenshots. I have attached some screenshots of Ratspell Game. We have made this toolkit from this game.
     
  22. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    i whant to try the demo but dont worck why what i need to do to test it???
     
  23. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
  24. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    yes i have it but i run client end dont worck
     
  25. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    What you mean don't work?
    It's not even open or connection failed?

    If the client opens, follow numbers
    1 - Run Account Server and create an account
    2 - Run Game Server
    3 - Run Client and login with your account.
     
  26. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    ok ok it worck
     
  27. Marrrk

    Marrrk

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Posts:
    1,032
    Hi there,

    I have some question to this toolkit.

    Does it support a server cluster architecture, so that I can for example split my world
    in different zones to ease the workload? 100 Players and ~50 Monsters is far too low for a normal sized MMO world.

    How does the server handle the interaction between NPCs (Vendors, Monstes, Guards, eg.) and how does the server ensure that unneeded data
    will not be send to the players. I mean what happens when a Monster in the far south-east corner of the world sniffs on a flower while Player A and B
    are located in a town in the north-west of the world?

    The last question I have is regarding the accounts the player use. You wrote in an ealier response
    that you store the player data into the local PlayerPrefs. What exactly do you mean with that?
    I am sure Shadow93 wanted to know the server side aspect of this and not the client optimization.

    With best regards, Mark
     
  28. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    I have found a way but It needs some work. I will do it when I start to make an mmo with this toolkit.
    The way :
    If you want to split worlds, you must make some scenes on the client (City , Dungeon etc.)
    And you must make a server for every scenes with different ports.
    (When the client go City scene , client will connect to port 1001, when go to dungeon , connect to port 1002)

    Very good point. Related with first question,
    We split the world scenes and we will connect our scene server. In this way. We will not receive any information from other scenes.

    The answer of your last question is:
    I mean system registry with PlayerPrefs. Accounts and characters saved in registry. See the attached images.

    One more thing:
    By this way , the game can carry 2000+ players and 1000+ npcs.
    So 100 players and 50 monsters limit for only one scene.

    Regards.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  29. kral

    kral

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Posts:
    25
    çok güzel çalışma olmuş, tebrik ederim! :)

    Ultima Online'ı andırdı bana :)
     
  30. I am da bawss

    I am da bawss

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,574
    O.M.G., what a way to piss off your potential customers.

    I never understand why people put documentations into 1 file for each chapter. Why not go for the gold medal by putting each page into individual file? :D Have you got any idea how frustrating that is to open individual pdf files just to read next chapter (open and closing, open and closing, open and closing......).

    Also why put it in PDF and even worse, RTF file? A lot of people don't use Acrobat for security reason, same goes with RTF as well (both are highly exploitable loophole for hax0rs to inject code and taking over your system - just google "Acrobat exploit" or "RTF exploit"...).

    What is wrong just put it into plain HTML file? It would be so much simpler and It would be smoother for a user to just click and read it in the web browser without any plug-ins.

    It just begs the question. WHY? WHY? WHY?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  31. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Now only 25$
    Look at here.
     
  32. Merries

    Merries

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    262
    Hello Eren,

    Do you have documentation on how to set up the quest system?
    Is your code commented well to adjust it?

    Thank you!
     
  33. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Hello,
    Quest System is simple. When you create a spawn you can type the quest name and quest level.
    If you don't type them, the script will generate a quest name and level for the monster.
    Mean is every monster spawns as a quest monster. But you can change this auto-quest system.
    If you want to make only you type spawns will spawn a monster as a quest monster, use this spawn.js. Actually I didn't test it. But I guess it will work.
    Adding a Monster Spawn

    Quest system working simple. When the player select an active quest from the quest menu. The quest arrow will be available to track the quest. When the quest monster die , a treasure chest will spawn at the spawn point of the quest monster.

    If you mean is it a portable quest system, no it's not. This is connected with some scripts.

    Regards,

     
  34. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Here is a basic starting video. Hope to help.
    If you have any problem, write here or contact ratspell@farkow.com
    (Watch in HD)

    Regards,
     
  35. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    is possible to doing this with mysql save system database
     
  36. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    I never used MySQL/Unity3D. I don't know how can we do.
     
  37. Avanger

    Avanger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    and to save it into xml file
     
  38. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    I never worked with xml too :) When I need to storage something, I use the PlayerPrefs even this is not a good way , but easy , very easy.
     
  39. shadowfox

    shadowfox

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    I have two errors with the kit that i do not know how to fix they are
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Boo.Lang.Runtime.RuntimeServices.InvokeBinaryOperator (System.String operatorName, System.Object lhs, System.Object rhs)
    speaktimer.FixedUpdate () (at C:/Users/Administrator/Documents/New chapter3/Assets/scripts/misc/speaktimer.js:12)

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Boo.Lang.Runtime.RuntimeServices.InvokeBinaryOperator (System.String operatorName, System.Object lhs, System.Object rhs)
    speaktimer.FixedUpdate () (at C:/Users/Administrator/Documents/New chapter3/Assets/scripts/misc/speaktimer.js:12)

    if you could find the problem I would be thankful shadowfox
     
  40. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    In fact , when first time you build the pack, there is no problem like that.
    Now I'm searching for the possible sources. When I find I will let you know.
     
  41. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. if (transform.root.GetComponent("playerMain")) gameObject.name = transform.root.GetComponent("playerMain").playerID+"speak";
    3.  
    SpeakTimer script attached to an object. The object option the speak timer (How long be seen).
    This line gives error on you at the SpeakTimer.js. But I don't see any problem (look at the image).
    Can I connect your computer with TeamViewer?
     

    Attached Files:

    • $11.jpg
      $11.jpg
      File size:
      153.8 KB
      Views:
      2,116
  42. Merries

    Merries

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    262
    Thank you Eren for the help.
     
  43. lucked

    lucked

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    how can use the horse?
     
  44. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    I made a small video for this.
    Please Watch in HD to see what I'm doing.
     
  45. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
  46. janpec

    janpec

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Posts:
    3,517
    Awesome kit for great price, but it is sad that it cannot support 1000 players or more without problems. Is this technical limitation of Raknet, or do you plan to work on support for more players?
     
  47. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Thanks,
    I will continue to use Raknet when we start the develop the Ratspell again. Because It's very useful.
    And I will make "one server for every scene" system on it when I start the develop the kit again (very soon). It will let us carry 1000+ players. But not for this kit!, I will do it for the mmo game of our company.
    "Ratspell MMO Toolkit" will maintain this state.
     
  48. TylerPerry

    TylerPerry

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Posts:
    5,577
    it looks ok but it isent a mmorpg its a morpg it is not masivly multiplayer as 100players is far to low and 50 monsters? that is rediculous. exept for that it looks good. but it saves it as playerpref???. on the players computer or server? these points make this unusable people will hack the game so quickly you may aswell let them put there own stats in. sorry but i would never buy this you say your making a better one for your game so why not relese it? you will make alot of money if you make a good mmorpg starterkit.
     
  49. Prion Games

    Prion Games

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,509
    A complete MMORPG starter kit would be epic but coming from the person making it, I would release to public for one major reason, Unity is not built for MMO's, so if you make that barrier non existent you could bring a whole new concept to Unity, will all credit to yourself, making you a very popular person on here, and it is good for business because then we would have real MMO competition on Unity and competition means better projects and more money and advertisement to Unity and yourself, and we get the resources to do the same, everyone wins!!!!!!!!
     
  50. erenaydin

    erenaydin

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    365
    Of course the saves on the server machine :)
    And right 100 players and 50 monster on a scene at 100-120kb/sn. But If you make a scene splitting system (1 server for 1 scene), this will gonna be okay. Actually I made this system on new Ratspell.
    So new Ratspell will carry 5000+ 5000+ monsters because there is a server will be use per scene with different ports.
    City - Port 4000 , Graveyard - 4001 <-- like that.
    (And I made an optimization, now a scene can carry 200 players and 100 monsters)

    New Ratspell :


    You didn't use this toolkit I guess. It's very useful and ready. But as I mean, needs good programming skills to develop.
    So that's 25$. Try the demo at www.ratspell.com

    (Note : I will never release new Ratspell as a toolkit, thats gonna be mmo game)

    But at last Ratspell MMO Toolkit can carry 100players and 50npcs for 100kb-120kb/s

    I talked some posibilities I made on the new Ratspell.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011