Search Unity

Rar file decompress?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by nbfp, May 8, 2019.

1. nbfp

nbfp

Hi,

How would one go about decompressing a Rar file (images inside) into another folder in Unity (Deployment platform Oculus Go). I have been researching for couple of days now and just getting more confused:(.

I know that there are libraries like SharpCompress, but can't find documentation on how to use them (Beginner here).

Any help would be appreciated.

2. mgear

mgear

3. Antypodish

Antypodish

I suggest use 7-zip, can decompress most files. Also give options to encrypt/decrypt files and more. And is free to use.
    Using it for years, and had no single issue.
    RAR is pain in backside.

4. nbfp

nbfp

Using zips is sadly not an option because I have no control over source material. They are rar files that have photos (like Summer2017.rar). Now I have a nasty workaround. I loaded all the compressed files to my NAS-drive and manually decompressed all the pics. And my app loads the photos from my drive. This is not long term option since new files are added almost daily on remote server.

5. mgear

mgear

you could add script on the server to do that conversion automatically

xVergilx likes this.
  6. nbfp

nbfp

Yes, but I can't host the photos for very long, and on the original server where the rar-files are, I am not allowed.

Still looking for solution. My knowledge just is not enough to compile SharpCompress from GitHub to a library. I can't even open that in Visual Studio. Just get error messages.

7. mgear

mgear

conversion can happen directly after the .rar file is uploaded (if they are),
    but yes, you would need to have access to the server to do that..

another alternative,
    have a 2nd server (that you have full access to create scripts) download the requested rar file,
    do the conversion there, then pass zip file to client download.