Search Unity

Random tile spawning

Discussion in '2D' started by Owzybrand, Oct 27, 2020.

1. Owzybrand

Owzybrand

Please forgive me for my lack of understanding and knowledge!

I am very new to Unity and C#, and I am looking to make a 2D Hexagonal Tile game for Android. I have absolutely NO IDEA where to start.

My game will be a minimalist survival game where you have a home tile (center screen) that never gets destroyed or changed in any way, and 6 random tiles surrounding the home tile (these will be chosen from a random group of tiles). The idea is every time the player taps on a tile, the tile is destroyed after an event happens and a new random tile is spawned in the position of the old tile.

I have no idea how to approach this in my script. I don't even understand how to find an individual tile's position! I know I need to use Tilemap.SetTile but after reading Unity Docs I am still very confused...

Basically I need to know;

1. How to set the tiles when the game starts
    2. How to destroy tiles when tapped
    3. How to replace tiles with random tiles

Should I even be using tiles for this sort of game? Feeling very overwhelmed at the moment!

Here is a picture of my scene currently so you can get an idea of what I mean (hopefully);

Example Pic.png

2. Derekloffin

Derekloffin

You can certainly use a tilemap for this, although you might run into issues a bit later if you start doing complex stuff. My own game uses a isotilemap, but for my resource nodes I use individual game objects so they can have their own distinct colliders but I think if I really worked at it I probably could have made it work with just the tilemap.