Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Random huge spikes on JobHandle.CompleteAll for a Pathfinding Job System

Discussion in 'C# Job System' started by Qhuhuit, Nov 29, 2020.

1. Qhuhuit

Qhuhuit

Hello,

First of all, sorry if it is confusing. I'm a beginner in DOTS, especially in writing code of Jobs so I'll probably say some stupid things (yet I've a degree in computer science and studied parallelization, I should have some basics).

I have a Pathfinding Job System based on the implementation of Code Monkey (link to the video, the project repo)
    It is working well most of the time, except that it spikes at 1400ms/frame randomly every 30s or so.

I have no idea what to do to fix it, I've tried many changes without success. Here is the source code of the System

From what I've came to understand, the problem seems to come from the Pathfinding.OnUpdate function.
    The main thread is waiting for the findPathJobs to complete at the CompleteAll call because the SetBufferPathJob needs to access some shared datas right after it. So it may just be a bad implementation but theses jobs are running on the main thread and are not parallelized.

I've came close to a parallelized solution but failed to succeed because the SetBufferPathJob needs to write to a ComponentDataFromEntity<PathFollow> after the findPathJob has been executed.
    Using the [NativeDisableParallelForRestrictionAttribute] didn't help, although there is no risk of race condition.

I hope someone more experimented can spot the problem easily with theses informations, and if needed I can provide the other components source code.

Thanks to any help :)

Last edited: Dec 3, 2020
  2. reeseschultz

reeseschultz

If you're calling
    JobHandle.Complete
    or
    JobHandle.CompleteAll