Search Unity

1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

Raid Bosses

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by patrickdib007, Jan 24, 2020.

1. patrickdib007

patrickdib007

Hey Guys,

I don't know if im on the right section of the forum, I'm a complete noob, but here goes my question :

I'm creating a network game and i want raid bosses to appear on the players screen and ask them if they want to join the raid (4 player max). Similar to the game Seven deadly sins grand cross.

How do i go about it with the scripts or is there a specific mechanism that i have to use ??

Thanks

2. Devastadus

Devastadus

This is such an opened ended question that can vary greatly based upon your architecture of your code. No one here can give you a good answer without knowing that code base or architecture or possibly working on your project. With that said if you can create a networked game, even the simplest networked game. making a mechanism to ask players to join a raid will be trivial at that point.

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Popping up questions is usually enabling a UI window. See any tutorial which covers UI windows, or more simply just how to enable/disable GameObjects. You'd set any text or images on the UI window same as any other text or images from a UI tutorial.

As far as the network part, you haven't mentioned what network API you've used to implement the rest of the game. Maybe it has a built in mechanism for this, maybe you'd handle it with a remote RPC, or maybe you're writing your own implementation on top of serializing/deserializing messages to byte arrays. No idea what you're working with.