Search Unity

Questions on Object Management

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by joe_04_04, Oct 6, 2017.

1. joe_04_04

joe_04_04

https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/temas/multiplayer-networking/shooting-single-player

I'm studying this tutorial on how to create a shooter. What has me confused is how these bullet objects are being tracked. What I mean is, we are instantiating a new bullet prefab to the bullet var GameObject, but if we fire two in a row, aren't we calling the fire function twice, which would destroy the bullet var GameObject? I could be misunderstanding this, since I'm still new to C#, but if the bullet var is being destroyed by the end of the fire function, what is keeping track of those bullets?

I come from a C++ background, so I'm used to objects being destroyed when a function ends and having to manually delete objects when I need to reassign a pointer to a new object. I know that in C#, there is garbage collection that does this, but that doesn't really clear up my main question.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

With Unity objects can sorta take care of themselves. The fire function Instantiates the bullet from the given prefab, then immediately marks it for destruction in 2.0 seconds. At that point it forgets about it.

Cue the magic of colliders and other methods that can be used to decide if that bullet actually dies earlier, such as if it hits something. I assume that's in a later part of the tutorial. The bullet you made is already marked to be destroyed 2.0 seconds from its creation, and then if it gets destroyed earlier, it's gone earlier.

It's definitely a different way of thinking about game problems that really enables a lot of really interesting behaviors that can be trivially set up with clever use of components (MonoBehaviour scripts) on GameObjects. It's pretty amazing how well Unity pulls it off.

Lysander likes this.
  3. joe_04_04

joe_04_04