Search Unity

Questions On Implementing Grass

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Zhialus, Aug 14, 2019.

1. Zhialus

Zhialus

I'm fairly new to the graphics side of unity and have spent the last week or so researching implementation of grass. Although I've learned alot, I'm still looking for some clarification of how its actually done as it seems to be quite vague and haphazard in most of the "tutorials" I've found.

--------
    UPDATED:
    My new question that I think more accurately gets to the point I'm looking for is: based on this list of requirements below the photos, what would be the best way to achieve an effect similar to these examples? Whether through some kind of auto generating shader, gpu instancing gameobject prefabs of grass, or any other method I'm not aware of.
    --------

This effect from a unfinished game called "Vind" is exactly what I'm looking for.
    Vind grass 01.png Vind grass 02.png Vind grass 03.png

Based on these photos, here's the effects I want.

- Different types of grass(see images for blue/white flowers, and different grass colors and shapes)
    - Varying height (Vind fades the height down when reaching the edge of islands or paths/dirt, aswell as having different height within the center of patches)
    - Reactive (Wind effect like the unity grass, and also bending when the player walks through, see images)
    - Ability to choose where the different grasses will be (Not sure if that means manually prefab painting, or if there's a way to do it with a colored texture map that a shader can use to decide what goes where.)
    - Ability to put grass on floating islands

From what I understand there's 3 methods, please correct me on this.