Search Unity

Questions about Unity Mac in general

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SpectralLament, Jan 24, 2006.

1. SpectralLament

SpectralLament

I just stumbled on Unity the other day, and it's features caught my eye. I was ready to start saving up to purchase it...when I noticed it's made for the Mac. This isn't a bad thing, as I have no hate for the Mac, but I only have a Windows PC.

I'm still wanting to buy it, I just want to make sure it'll be worth it, and that the Mac I might buy would run it. So, I'll go ahead and make a list of things I would enjoy being answered, as it would be a rather large cost in total to buy everything.

1. Do Unity games have a generally good frame-rate on PC's?
    I heard Torque performed badly on the Mac. Is the reverse true here?

2. How easy is it to use?
    From what I've read, it seems to be very easy to use, but I'm a non-programmer (I'm actually an artist) and I've only been pretty good at one of the 3 languages I tried to learn (and it was the programming language in GameMaker6).

3. How good would you classify the graphics as?
    The screenshots looked good, but I'm wondering what you guys think of it. I'm not looking for Doom 3 level stuff, but if I can pull fairly high detail stuff with support for bump maps, I'm happy. Would you classify it as PS2 or GC power levels? Maybe a gen behind on the PC front? Or current PC levels of power?

4. Is it worth plunking the cash down on?
    The indie license for the engine is in the $300 range, which I can afford. Thing is, I have to buy a mac as well...and the cheapest one I could find was still $499 (Mac Mini). Is it worth the total cost?

5. If so, what is the cheapest Mac I could buy that would run it well?