Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions about the Learn.Unity tutorials, Learn and Unity in general

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Paradoxbuilder, Jan 6, 2021.

1. Paradoxbuilder

Paradoxbuilder

Hi all! I just started learning Unity and I'm on fire with the possibility of finally making my own video game! I know it's not something you can learn in a day, but I want to do the best I can! (remove obligatory I grew up playing video games etc etc)

So I searched the entire Net for Unity stuff and decided to use the resources here because they are official and all that. It's the Internet, so there is a lot of info, but the quality really differs.

I am encountering a few issues here and there which I thought I would ask about :

1. Lesson 2.1 - Player Positioning. Tutorials tell me that I can press right to make my character move, but that does not happen. I have written the code to the best of my ability and followed onscreen instructions

2. Is it common to encounter errors in the tutorial? I follow the steps as best as I can, get the correct Unity version etc. But sometimes my screen just doesn't match with what I see in the tutorial. LIke point 1. above. It's quite frustrating and I'm really not sure what I am doing wrong. I wrote a post on this earlier and it's supposed to be common? Say it ain't so Joe lol.

3. Are there written forms of these tutorials? I think there is a post reflecting that below? I prefer to read (I grew up in a time before YT) and the written text sometimes doesn't follow the tutorial at all.