Search Unity

Questions about Runescape: Browser Usability in 2020?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peppies, Mar 10, 2020.

1. peppies

peppies

Greetings,

I used to be a huge fan of RuneScape back in the day (early 2000s). I haven't played in 15 years, but always had an itch to build a game like this someday as a hobby. A few days ago, I decided to scratch that itch. I am a complete noob at game making, never made any game before. However, I live and breath PHP/MySQL/HTML. I also have experience with JavaScript/Node.js/Socket.io and building chat rooms and private messaging (friends list) for a small social networking site that I built. I know Linux/Apache and the server end type stuff, and run the server that my websites are running on. So I'm not a complete noob when it comes to programming in general. So I had some basic questions about building a game:

I believe the original RuneScape game I played (in 2005) was based on RuneTek 3 engine, developed in Java. I remember being able to play it in a browser window, and seen half of college students play it in the university computer lab back in the 2005-2006 days (nostalgia).

Can a game like that still be played in a browser?

What did Runescape use back in the day to be able to play this in a browser?

Was this running on a browser Java Applet, Flash, or something, and is that still possible today with modern browsers like Chrome/Edge?

What would be the new and best way to develop a free browser-based RuneScape type game like this today? Is it done in HTML5? Is the whole game downloaded into the browser's memory? How was that done in 2005 vs how it is done today?

I think the new RuneScape game can only be downloaded and installed on the computer like a normal game, with the exception of IE browser... I like the idea of just being able to login to a website and play the MMORPG on any browser, anywhere and at any time.