Search Unity

Questions about RemoteSettings.ForceUpdate

Discussion in 'Unity Analytics' started by pndeveloper, Aug 16, 2017.

  1. pndeveloper

    pndeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    According to the documentation, "the remote settings are downloaded from the server at the beginning of every session, and so forcing an update is not necessary."

    When using RemoteSettings in a mobile app, what's the definition of a "session?" Are the settings downloaded only at app launch? Or every time the app is resumed from the background? Or does it follow the Unity Analytics definition of a session, where a new session begins at launch and after every subsequent 30 minutes of idle time?

    Also, given that ForceUpdate is "primarily for use in development and testing," is there any reason that it cannot (or should not) be used in production? For example, if we want to make sure that an update happens every hour, is it okay to do that using ForceUpdate?

    Thanks!
     
  2. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    @dppc

    I believe session is meant more generally here, so the settings are downloaded when the app launches, not necessarily every time it resumes from the background.

    Edit:
    Remote settings will be fetched when the game launches, and after 30 minutes of idle time.

    Once an hour probably wouldn't be a problem. You would need to set up your app so it could handle updates at an arbitrary time after you called ForceUpdate().
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  3. amidofu

    amidofu

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Posts:
    23
    Just updated RemoteSettings to version 0.1.7, the ForceUpdate() is unavailable, is it removed?
     
  4. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    @amidofu,

    Which version of Unity are you using? The RemoteSettings API is actually built into the engine. ForceUpdate was only available after 2017.1.

    The Remote Settings plugin contains the component, which allows you to configure your Remote Settings in the editor.