Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions about registering in the Asset Store as a seller.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Danny387, Mar 22, 2023.

1. Danny387

Danny387

Hello all,

I am from Germany, I am a self-employed media designer and I would like to sell assets in the Unity Asset Store. I am registered as a small business in my country and am exempt from sales tax.
    I am just confused when registering.
    Do I need to choose company or individual for the payout profile? With company I have to enter a tax ID and would have only my German tax ID.
    And what does "payout reference" mean?

I would be pleased about a helpful answer.

2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

I'm from germany too. Since you have a registered business, you are not supposed to register as an individual.

The tax ID you refer to is most likely the "VAT ID" which is in german the "UmsatzsteuerId" or "UStId". It is NOT your tax Id (SteuerNummer or SteuerId). You have to seperately request such a UStId for your business which shouldn't take long and you can send that request online.

By "payout reference" I think you mean "payout preference", ie the way you want to get paid. Probably PayPal, bank account, whatever works for you. If it said "reference" then I would have to guess that this is probably the person or business the account is registered for. If you could post a screenshot of that form that would help.

Tip in advance (not sure if you need it, if you don't just ignore it ;) ):