Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions about Keyframe Character Animation

Discussion in 'Animation' started by DreamGirlGames, Aug 30, 2014.

1. DreamGirlGames

DreamGirlGames

I'm using Keyframe animation in Unity by having single short clips that I make in blender and then blend between by directly altering animation[].weight.

After working with it for a bit, I'm starting to notice some inconsistencies between Blender and Unity.

For example. I have a character's fist at position (0, 0, 0) on the first keyframe. On the next keyframe it's at (1, 1, 0). But when i blend between them (animation[].weight of both keyframes are equal) I don't get (0.5, 0.5, 0) I get things like (0.7, 0.1, 0). I thought it was some rigging thing (though I must admit I'm very new to 3D graphics--only a few months experience) but I did a full animation in blender, using the same keyframes and exporting it to Unity and I get similar, though not identical, inconsistencies.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Any help would be great!

Hey there!
    I'm developing a competitive fighting game in Unity. I have an implementation for animation in mind, that I'm 99.9% sure is possible, but I am hitting some obstacles.

The game runs at a fixed 60fps for both logic and rendering concurrently.
    Characters in the game have one discrete state in which they can be. These states are called Skills.
    Each Skill is made up of a certain number of Skill Frames. Each Skill frame has hitbox data, attack events, sfx events, movement events, etc. Every Update the characters' current Skill Frame is incremented by one until they reach the end and revert to their default 'Neutral' Skill. They can also 'cancel' into another Skill via specific inputs or enter into Hitstun, Blockstun or BeingThrown Skills when struck by an enemy attack.