Search Unity

Questions about Game modelling and optimization

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by marti1599, Dec 2, 2022.

1. marti1599

marti1599

Hi to all, i am always been insterested in videogame and as a developer i decided to learn how to create one. I decided to start during the 2020 pandemic but i started with a too big project that i gave up. Now i decided to retry with the main focus on learn instead of create my drem game.
    As a solo developer i write scripts and create 3d models. I learned to use Blender with my first game but some optimization questions pop up in my mind for optimize 3d models. I have searched online but i didn't find answer to my questions.

My questions are:
    1.1 - What affects the performance of a 3d model?
    As i know the performace is better with low vertex count and low draw call (textures).
    1.2 - There are other things? For example one thing that pop in my mind is the texture size.
    1.3 - So If i need to make a list from the most important thing to optimize to the less which will be the order?

As i know triangles and ngos are bad because they can cause problems on render, can cause errors on smooth and can create deformations.
    2.1 - Is better to add useless vertices (increase the vertex count) or a triangle/ngos?

3.1 - If i wanna extrude a cube is better to add edge loops and extrude or cut and extrude? Because with edge loop i will increase a lot the vertex count.
    Using the attached images as an example starting from img1 is better img2 where i add 4 edge loops or img 3 where i cut the face?

4.1 - For big mesh like an house is better to subdivide it in multiple meshes or to have 1 single big mesh?
    With multiple meshes i have more draw calls but the textures can have more details and are smaller. With 1 big mesh i have less details (i can create a big atlas like 8k image but it takes a lot of time to bake) but less draw calls.