Search Unity

(QUESTION) Starting to Develop a 3D Game

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by dolmaci, Nov 10, 2015.

1. dolmaci

dolmaci

Hi all! I have some questions about Unity and game making. First of all let me tell you about myself. I just started to use Unity about 2 months ago. So I’m new to Unity. Please lead me to right directory or topic if I’m in the wrong one. Pardon me if I’m a noob But I’m not completely useless and I’m trying to learn. I’m taking courses about Unity and game developing from Udemy. I started to Unity to make games because me and my friend are hardcore gamers and we have a game idea of our dreams. We want to make it real cuz nobody else does. We find out that we can do it via Unity so we started to do so.

Okay what are my questions?

First of all we’re making a 3D FPS game. It will be a Massive Multiplayer, crafting survival game.

1) Okay so we’re making models on Blender. My friend got the modelling and model animations kinda stuff. But we didn’t get the logic completely. Yet… We create items which can be holded and/or usable (interactable). Do we need to make animations for every specific item? İf so how do we manage to create hand, arm, body animations? What path should we follow? İf not what is the easiest or best way to do it? Does it a 3D modeller’s job or Unity is capable to do it in a easy way?

2) How to we equip wearable items on character? E.g: A silk dress. How can we make a character take that item and wear it?

3) And last of all. We’re trying to create an inventory system. We’re trying to make it our very own one but we need help about it. Like how does the communication between items and players occur? Are there any ready – to – use algorythms? What kind of a system should we follow?

I’m open to any kind of tutorial suggestions. I’m familiar with coding and I have no problem with it. So hit me with best you’ve got. Thank you all for your helps and interests.

2. ronbonomo

ronbonomo