Search Unity

[Question] Rendering inside a square

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by FreshDumb, Jun 20, 2019.

1. FreshDumb

FreshDumb

Hello Everyone,

I am currently working on a game using 3D Assets in a 2D game and have a problem, that seems pretty simple, but turns out it probably isn't?
    Searching the Forum i couldn't find anything fitting and i just need a pointer where to look, because there are probably a number of ways to achieve what i want.

The player can activate a "field" device which creates a square around the player and then affects everything inside this square. Now i want to cut off everything at the edges of the square and only render whatever is inside the bounds of the square. Since i am not an artist i hope my incredibly art skills suffice to explain what i want. :D

upload_2019-6-20_17-16-19.png

So i want to render everything inside the Square, including parts of objects that are half in and half outside the square.
    The Camera is orthographic for a number of reasons, but i think that makes it easier anyway.

I don't really know how to write shaders, but have a very basic grasp of how they work.
    Any help or input would be highly appreciated. :)

Grandiose Greetings,
    FreshDumb

2. dmennenoh

dmennenoh

3. FreshDumb

FreshDumb

Hm... I was considering Stencil Buffer. But doesn't that mean the cropping is on the Material of the Objects themselves?
    Couldn't a camera discard any pixel outside of the square? Like i said i am not very versed in Shaders, so not sure if those are stupid questions. :p

Thanks for the Reply, nevertheless. :)

4. kdgalla

kdgalla

Yes, but only because your area is square-shaped and you are using an orthographic view. You can have a second camera render your "inside the square" stuff to a render texture and apply the render texture to a quad that is attached to your main camera. Let the quad be your square.

5. FreshDumb

FreshDumb