Search Unity

Question on Unity syntax, meaning and usage

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Deleted User, Aug 30, 2019.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

I was previously in another forum but was told that it was not suitable / correct. I am in the midst of reviewing the codes from a tutorial. Many are not difficult to understand but I'm still a beginner. I have already checked the internet and it doesn't provide very useful resources. I went to the unity link and it doesn't do a good job explaining things. In my case I don't know what is quarternion even after referring to the link. Can someone tell me what it is? https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Quaternion.html - i don't understand what it is telling me. Beware that I might need real life examples to understand it well.

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

From the doc "They are based on complex numbers and are not easy to understand intuitively."

Otherwise, maybe this video would help? (I didn't watch it, it just came up in the Google search and looked relavent)

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Good luck with that
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quaternion

Note that you don't really need to understand how this works and can just treat it as a black box, converting back and forth to Euler as needed.

Also, in the context of programming the word "code" is already plural. You would use the word "codes" if you were talking about multiple license keys or cheat codes, not C# code.

4. Antistone

Antistone

Here's what you should know about Quaternions:

Quaternions are one possible way of representing a rotation or orientation in 3D space.

Quaternions are hard to understand, but they have several mathematical advantages (particularly for interpolation), so Unity uses them "behind the scenes" as the main way of representing rotations.