Search Unity

Question on Sprite Management in a 2D Isometric Game

Discussion in '2D' started by kennyrogertaer, Jun 25, 2019.

1. kennyrogertaer

kennyrogertaer

So I'm relatively new to game art/development and I was just wondering what's a ballpark estimate for the number of sprites/sprite sheets for games? Also, I was wondering how expensive it was on the unity engine (or game in general) to call multiple sprite sheets for each unique monster?

More details:
    Currently, I'm working on just the "monsters" (no other NPCs just yet) and the counter is already at 19 different monsters, some of which are just colour reskins. Is it a safe decision to make a sprite sheet (2048px x 2048px) for each individual monster? since the game is an isometric game, I've got 8 degrees of movement to animate for both moving and idling plus any aggressive stances I may add in later on. Some quick number crunching puts me at 168 sprites per monster to cover all possible stances it would need.

Spritesheets is the obvious choice over individual sprites for fewer drawcalls, but I'm now interested in how many sprite sheets is typical of games, cause this is sounding somewhat high for me at this point. Designing them isn't the issue (I've got a system to make the sprites relatively quickly set up), just want to make sure I'm not digging myself into a hole on the programming side of things.

My game will launch on PC initially and transition to Android/Switch in the future by the way, as I'm sure that will affect the answers.

TL;DR:
    1) Whats a rough estimate for the number of sprites/sprite sheets on games? I know the range will be huge, but just want to know a ballpark estimate to see if I'm pushing any boundaries (lower or higher end).
    2) We all know that sprite sheets > individual sprites, but should I do individual sprite sheet per monster or one huge monster sprite sheet?
    3) How expensive is it on the engine to call up sprite sheets for each unique monster?