Search Unity

Question: Is it legal to use unity asset for commercial?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kunalz, Sep 11, 2018.

1. Kunalz

Kunalz

Hi I'm new to Unity and I have been learning a lot from it, I bought many assets that I wanna use in my game that I may publish for sale. Reading a lot of articles say that once purchased, you can use it in your game for commercial use.

But what about the free assets provided by unity? An example is, lets just say I have created a first person game and I implemented the first person view using unity's provided first person controller, can I still sell my game once its done ?

Because there are some useful things that can make my development easier such as reusing unitychan's animation etc for character models I bought. I just wanna make sure that I'm not unintentionally breaking any rules and would like a clear explanation of this.

2. hongwaixuexi

hongwaixuexi

If you are buying them from asset store, then it's OK.

3. killer_bee_bits

killer_bee_bits

Yes! You can use them for commercial purposes since you purchased them. But free assets generally don't look great so people don't use them in any commercial games. Since you are new to unity, Go ahead!!

4. Antypodish

Antypodish

The point of any asset either provided by Unity, or from Asset store, is so you can use them in production and sell as part of the product. You can not sell them individually in many cases. In some cases, you can not disclose, that you use certain assets. Best to read individual licences.

PS.
    This looks very suspicious to me. Like replaying to own post.
    @Kunalz & @killer_bee_bits joining just day apart few months back.

Ryiah likes this.
  5. killer_bee_bits

killer_bee_bits

Lol... no I am a different person

6. Tom_Veg

Tom_Veg

Speaking for myself and assets from my store, yes you can.

7. PizzaPie

PizzaPie

Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
    Kunalz and Ryiah like this.
  8. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored