Search Unity

[Question] How to know how many people/time you approximately need for a game ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JobiJoba, Sep 13, 2017.

1. JobiJoba

JobiJoba

Hello,

I'm a student and I'm lucky enough to have the possibility of having people joining me on my first attempt to create a game with a team, because we need to make projects every year and I feel like this is a good opportunity to try create something.
    The game idea is not really big, it's 2D, it uses sprites, the mechanics are kind of simple but should have a lot of ramifications if everything goes fine.
    I'm try to work on some kind of preproduction, trying to get things clear so that anyone joining me understands everything he needs to know. I tried to document myself about preproduction and I saw a lot of people saying that it's really important to know how much time you have and how many people you need.
    In theory, I should have up to three years, part-time, for the development of the game, before I'm not in the school anymore. But I have no idea how to estimate the number of people I need and on what role.
    Art is a big part of my game, not because I need it to be incredibly gorgeous but because there is a lot of different characters and places to draw, so I guess I would need most of the team to work on that, and I don't believe the game is extremely hard to code because it doesn't have much complexity, so one or two people to handle the coding should be enough if we can go for 2 or 3 years of development.
    But, again, I don't know how to estimate these things and it would be really helpful if someone knows how to define those things, so that I can try to understand what i'm getting into and maybe change the scope of the game. I understand it's easy to get delusional when it comes to creating games, and I don't want to screw this opportunity to make something good, so I'll take anything you know about this.