Search Unity

Question for other freelancers.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BubyMB, Jan 7, 2017.

1. BubyMB

BubyMB

Hey guys, I started freelance coding a few months ago and I am starting to see a trend.
    Whenever I get emailed about an inquiry, I reply and almost never get a response back. Why is this so, maybe it is something i said?
    This is starting to concern me a lot.
    This is my first time freelancing, any feedback would be welcomed, Thanks.

JamesArndt likes this.
  2. Billy4184

Billy4184

In terms of communication with a potential client, I think the most important things to do are:
    • Don't immediately give a quote.
    • Demonstrate in your first communication that you a) read what they wrote in the description of their project b) are well-qualified for the job and c) are a friendly and cooperative person. I've found that a pretty formal and professional tone never goes badly even if the other person comes across as totally chilled out - don't treat it as a 'dev-to-dev convo'.
    • Ask them some questions about the project to get a conversation going - project descriptions are never complete and there's always something to ask. Show that you're interested in the project and that you're going to give a precise and complete solution to whatever problem they have.
    Other than that, the only other thing I can think of is that you maybe replied a day or two late? I sometimes don't get a reply when I do that (I assume they found someone else).

theANMATOR2b and Socrates like this.
  3. BubyMB

BubyMB

I try to come across as formal and I usually do most of these things, I also usually respond a few hours after they sent the email. Maybe most of them just found a better suite for them. That seems unlikely though, because in the past 3 weeks, i have had about 12 inquires and only 2 responses

4. Martin_H

Martin_H