Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Bug Question About Resizing Sprites

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Davingot, May 6, 2021.

  1. Davingot

    Davingot

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    (I have never posted before and wasn't entirely sure what to make the prefix)

    I am fairly new to Unity and I am having some problems dealing with sprites. I learned a good amount from a course I took and decided to make something of my own before moving on to the next section. I made a robot in Blender and took a still image of it to use as the sprite for the player, but my problem is that when I shrink the sprite down to the player's size, it ends up becoming blurry, and some of the details become harder to make out. I have tried to adjust the pixels per unit settings on the sprite, but it doesn't seem to be working. Is there something that can be done in unity or is the issue pertaining to Blender? I may be thinking too big here but I know that really high def stuff can be done with sprites in unity looking at what others have done, so I really want to know if there is something better I can do. (Images Attached)

    Screenshot 2021-05-01 161330.png Screenshot 2021-05-01 161406.png Screenshot 2021-05-01 161503.png Screenshot 2021-05-05 202306.png
     
  2. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    When Unity down-samples your sprite, it applies filtering (bilinear by default) to prevent uneven distortion and that can look a little blurry. If you want to disable it- In the image import settings, set the "filter mode" to "point (no filter)"
     
  3. Davingot

    Davingot

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    I tried setting it to point, but it didn't seem to work. Is it because I'm downscaling the image maybe? I've been trying to fiddle with the settings but not matter what I do it comes out blurry. One of the things I'm confused about is that in the game editor, when I zoom in on the image, it looks perfectly clear, but in the game view itself I zoom in and it's blurry and pixelated. Is there maybe a way to make the image smaller on import so I have to upscale it instead of downscaling it?
     
  4. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    If it's only in the game view, then maybe you have Anti Aliasing turned on? The would be in the quality settings, I think. Try turning that off if it's on.
     
  5. Davingot

    Davingot

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    I turned off anti-aliasing, but all it did was make the sprite way larger when importing into unity, and downscaling it still makes it pixelated
     
  6. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    That doesn't make sense. I was talking about this setting here:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-QualitySettings.html

    This should not affect the size of your sprite. How are you "zooming" in the game view, by the way?
     
  7. Davingot

    Davingot

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Yes, I turned that off, but I did set the pixels per unit pretty high, and for zooming in I'm scrolling the mouse wheel in and out. By scrolling in the editor, the robot looks fine, but scrolling in the game view it's blurry
     
  8. kdgalla

    kdgalla

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    4,037
    If you use the scroll in the scene view, it moves the scene view camera forward. If you use the scroll wheel in the game view, it upscales the view. That's not the same thing at all.

    If you increase the scale in the game view it's always going to look pixelated because the scene is still being rendered at the same resolution but the view is just making pixels bigger. So what you're seeing is what is expected.

    In the game view, set your scale to 1x to see what the game will actually look like.
     
  9. Davingot

    Davingot

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    I've had it at 1x before, but it still looks like this:
     

    Attached Files: