Search Unity

Question About Importance of Reload Animation for FPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by feloxy, Apr 25, 2019.

1. feloxy

feloxy

Hey there Unity Community,

I've been working on a horror FPS as a side project and I've been using UFPS as the base for the FPS system, I've created my own custom "animations" for movemement and so on. I was wondering, how important is it for visual feedback to add rigged reload animations that you see the clips and bullets and so on in this type of game?

I am a lone dev and doing this as a hobby. I'd like to release the game at some point and wanted some feedback on this. Would this be important or just using the custom movement in UFPS be enough? I am trying to focus my energy on the enemy animations. I could later on add it in if I have the time/energy.

2. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

3. feloxy

feloxy

I'm comfortable enough to make animations in Blender, I am totally changing the default behaviors as well of the movement. It was more as a visual feedback. I could understand if this was a big gun focused action FPS like Metro. My game would be more along the lines of say Resident Evil 7 or maybe Bioshock. Atmospheric horror. In an atmospheric horror game, I was wondering if it is as important to have all the fancy animations for weapons. Or something more minimal would be acceptable, if I remember correctly, Dishonored had simple reload animations.

EDIT: I'm just trying to put my energy to good use, since I don't have that much time on my hands.

Thanks for taking time to respond.

4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

I don't think its important whatsoever. The game being fun has nothing to do with the quality or uniqueness of reload animations. As a small studio or solo developer, priority based time management is essential. AAA-level visual polish should not be on the list.