Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Quest 2 v56 Firmware w/Unity v2023 = Garbled Mic Input

Discussion in 'VR' started by DimX_Scott, Aug 11, 2023.

  1. DimX_Scott

    DimX_Scott

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    App records microphone input and sends it to a Speech To Text service.

    On the v55 Firmware, this works fine with no issues.

    On headsets with the v56 Firmware, the microphone now provides nothing but garbled input (rushed and chopped up).

    I'm using the OVR Meta SDK and Vivox. Vivox is recording fine.

    Removing Vivox from the app still results in garbled input.

    Has anyone run into this? I can't imagine I'm the only one affected.

    Additionally, I tried a base OpenXR template app, with no Oculus SDK, still getting the garbled mic input.
     
  2. DimX_Scott

    DimX_Scott

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    Test script is this (works the same if null device name passed or explicit):

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [RequireComponent(typeof(AudioSource))]
    2.     public class DebugMicTest : MonoBehaviour
    3.     {
    4.         private AudioSource source;
    5.         private void Start()
    6.         {
    7.             StringBuilder sb = new StringBuilder("[Mic] Devices: ");
    8.             foreach (string device in Microphone.devices)
    9.             {
    10.                 sb.Append($"{device}, ");
    11.             }
    12.             Debug.Log(sb.ToString());
    13.             source = GetComponent<AudioSource>();
    14.             string deviceName = "Android audio input";
    15. #if UNITY_EDITOR
    16.             deviceName = "Microphone";
    17. #endif
    18.             Microphone.GetDeviceCaps(deviceName, out _, out int max);
    19.             source.clip = Microphone.Start(deviceName, true, 3, max);
    20.             source.Play();
    21.             Debug.Log($"[Mic] Started Recording from: {deviceName}");
    22.         }
    23.     }
     
  3. aquadragon3d

    aquadragon3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Posts:
    11
    Hi, this sounds more like a Meta issue rather than something that we can solve on our end. Please post on the Meta boards for assistance. Thanks.
     
  4. DimX_Scott

    DimX_Scott

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    Fixed. Not sure how. Was messing with project settings and downgraded to v2022 of Unity.....somewhere along the lines things started working again. Will update again if I ever figure out what exactly it was but for now I'm moving on.