Search Unity

Quality of Life Feature Request

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Sesshomurai, Nov 26, 2020.

1. Sesshomurai

Sesshomurai

Hi,
    I'm new to Unity, but one thing I thought would be very useful is to copy multiple fields of an object while in Play mode, and then paste those fields back in edit mode, on the original fields.

Currently, I can only cut and paste one field and it will paste wherever I paste it.

What would be better is, let's say in play mode to modify an objects Position and Scale. I want to right click on Positon->Copy and then right click on Scale->copy. Now both values are in the clipboard.

I go back into Edit mode and then in the inspector, I right click on Scale->Paste. This pastes the Scale values.
    I then right click on Position->Paste. This pastes the position values.

Thanks

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

One way you can SORT of get this, to a limited degree, is during the run, press PAUSE, then drag the hierarchy you care about into the project area, which will make a spontaneous prefab.

Once you stop running, you now have that prefab as a frozen "snapshot" of your runtime values, and you can load it alongside other assets and copy / paste / replace stuff at your leisure.

adamgolden likes this.
  3. Sesshomurai

Sesshomurai

Ok, thanks. But cherry picking values and pasting them over should be a pretty simple implementation so maybe a dev catches this post one day.

4. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Short of just making a "deep multi-object clipboard" I can't even imagine what the UI for this feature would look like.

Let's say you have 7 positions and 4 scales to click and paste. So you go through the paused running scene and hoover those 7 positions up, copy, copy, copy.