Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Q]2D RPG Tools

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TheXWolf, May 30, 2014.

1. TheXWolf

TheXWolf

Hey there folks. So for the past month or so I've been fiddling around with systems like the 2D Toolkit, the ORK Framework, etc. and trying to compare the combination of solutions with the famed RPG Maker. I'm not looking to do this without any code, but I am looking for a system to save me some time, I'm a C# programmer so I don't horribly mind doing it if I have to. My question to the community, and those who've been working with Unity and Game Design for a while now...

Is there something for Unity along the lines of RPG Maker?

I'm not looking for something "Better" just something a bit more professional. Heck, even anything like RPM for unity. My biggest gripe with RPM is it's use of Ruby and the fact that it's natural behavior is to leave all of your assets in normal folders anyone can view. The Autotiles feature is probably my favorite, but the editor/database is great for quick creation of items and characters.

I'm not saying it's like working with paint and I want photoshop...but something that follows the general scheme even with the same restrictions is fine since in Unity I can use C# to modify it. Again, I'm just looking for a time saving solution without needing to learn huge APIs. But I'm looking for some of those same features. I'd rather use a window or inspector pane to create an item in 30 secs rather than 15 mins in code, if that helps explain it. Even if anyone has an idea of other software to use, rather than just plugins, since RPM just won't work for us.

I hope I'm not sounding too lazy and I really hope no-one minds the abstract question. Thanks in advance. :cool:

2. SememeS

SememeS

I'm confused.