Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

PVRTC difference Unity 5 and Unity 4.6.3

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by DominiqueT, Mar 21, 2015.

  1. DominiqueT

    DominiqueT

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    49
  2. mark_ff

    mark_ff

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Are you sure you have iOS selected as your current build platform on both?
     
  3. DominiqueT

    DominiqueT

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    Yes (I ve the same issue on device with Unity 5.0.0p2 version but not with the 4.6.3)
     
  4. Dreamwriter

    Dreamwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Posts:
    472
    When looking at the asset, there are tabs for compression settings for each platform. Go to the iOS platform and make sure it's not only PVRTC4 but that the quality is set high - iOS has a low and high quality setting for PVRTC, it defaults to low.
     
  5. Mishaps

    Mishaps

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    174
    perhaps try re-importing the asset? In the screenshots you attached, the second one says its compressed with ETC2 not PVRTC
     
  6. Mishaps

    Mishaps

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Posts:
    174
    we've opened up unity 5 and seeing similar drop in texture quality compared to unity 4.6.3. Whatever they changed certainly makes compression faster but loss of quality when using same settings is troubling....

    Anyone from unity - Can you give us more granular controls of PVRTC compression or at least an "Extreme" option for those of us happy to wait for longer compressions times?
     
  7. Zenix

    Zenix

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    210
    Still no answer from Unity on this? PVRTC textures look much worse in 5.x.... luckily you can at least take the compression tool from a Unity 4 installation and replace the one in your Unity 5 installation (C:/Program Files/Unity/Editor/Data/Tools/PVRTexTool.exe)
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  8. DominiqueT

    DominiqueT

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    Zenix > thanks for the tips. I'll try to find the path on Mac OS X
     
  9. _Paulius

    _Paulius

    Mobile Developer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    173
  10. DominiqueT

    DominiqueT

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    Thanks for your reply.
     
  11. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Its always the same answer : we are working on it!, we have multiple issues on mobile platforms that are confirmed issues by QA yet urgency is low to fix? This is high priority issue!
     
  12. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Does this solve the issue, can you confirm?
     
  13. Zenix

    Zenix

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    210
    It worked for us - however we do all our iOS builds off a Windows machine, I can't say if the process is as simple on Mac.
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  14. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    I downloaded the latest version of the tool on Mac, located the tool within the Unity install directory and replaced it.
    I don't think this will work because the tool I downloaded is 51mb and seems the one in Unity 1.5mb. Its like the one within Unity Mac is Windows. I'm not sure why they cannot use the latest version of the tool, seems the one Unity uses is pretty outdated now. Need a developer to confirm what is going on
     
  15. Zenix

    Zenix

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    210
    I just took the tool out of a Unity 4.6.6 installation - the executable was around 900kb vs 1100kb for the Unity 5 one. We wouldn't have been able to release our game with Unity 5 otherwise.
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  16. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    xenonmiii likes this.
  17. DominiqueT

    DominiqueT

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    49
  18. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Good you remembered this one and +1 when do we expect a fix and news on this??
     
  19. xenonmiii

    xenonmiii

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Posts:
    147
    +1 from me too :)
     
  20. Alexey

    Alexey

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,406
    honestly i dont get what is STILL the question.
    we use latest imgtec tool - so it is kinda out of our control. If for you old tool worked better - just copy it to unity - it should just work (if not, poke here).
     
  21. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    7,051
    I guess people should submit bugs to imgtec then.

    (I believe there was at least one imgtec guy that used to visit these forums, can't remember his name, @Alexey if you know who I'm talking about maybe you could draw his attention to this thread?)
     
unityunity