Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Purchasing Unity content to create a tabletop RPG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zylaris, Jun 13, 2020.

1. Zylaris

Zylaris

My dear fellows,

I'm new to unity and am a bit overwhelmed by the titanic amount of information and have some trouble to find correct answers. Could you please help me?

I'm creating a table top RPG not a computer one. I purchased some assets from the store and downloaded them into my computer. I would like to use them for my game that I would like to produce (fingers crossed). I can do that if I purchased them right?

Thank you!

2. Usually not. The license you pay for (or download under) is usually for electronic use only. Please talk to a lawyer and show her/him the license agreement before you release anything tangible out of other people's work.

Zylaris likes this.
  3. neginfinity

neginfinity

Nope.

Not allowed.

https://unity3d.com/legal/as_terms

You need to seek permission from asset owners if you're planning to use assets for 2d or 3d prints, making figurins and the like, as this is not permitted by unity asset store. (you'd be making a derived work and reselling it).

Zylaris and Ryiah like this.
  4. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

You should have checked this out before buying the assets, you may be able to get a refund but I doubt it.

Zylaris, DauntlessVerbosity and Ryiah like this.
  5. Zylaris

Zylaris

Thank you very much for your answers... I contacted the Customers Services and will see with them. I also contacted one of the artist and she told me that it is ok for her if I use it for a table top game or video game as it doesn't change anything to her. If I get the OK from the artist, I guess it is fine, right?

6. Martin_H

Martin_H