Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug PropertyFields don't work properly with SerializeReference Fields?

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by Albarnie, Dec 19, 2019.

1. Albarnie

Albarnie

I've recently been converting a node editor i created to UIElements and SerializeReference, to clean up the and separate the UI code and to reduce the reliance on ScriptableObjects as having an asset or subAsset per node is not ideal.
    I've tried using Propertyfields with a couple of SerializeReference fields, and it was working fine except the propertyField does not update when the reference changes, only when the UI itself is created. ChangeEvents are also not registered as far as i know.
    But, in case i am wrong, as I am fairly new to UIElements:

Does ChangeEvent register for SerializeReference Fields? if so, what is the type?
    Is there a workaround to force the propertyField to refresh without a reference to it? i.e through a callback or automatically.
    Is there a field type i can use with SerializeReference Fields?

If not, please fix this real soon as this firmly halts my ability to use my node editor, i foolishly thought this would be a simple thing.

2. uDamian

uDamian

Unity Technologies

To confirm, UIElements does not yet support SerializeReference. That said, you can still manually handle the reference changes using the SerializedObject/SerializedProperty APIs and manually update and listen for changes on a regular UI ObjectField. You just can't use the built-in bindings support of UIElements.

EDIT: This actually should work in UIElements but there might be a bug preventing it from working. See post below.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  3. MartinBarrette

MartinBarrette

Unity Technologies