Search Unity

Bug Property (_AdditionalLightsColor) exceeds previous array size (256 vs 32). Cap to previous size.

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by Bordeaux_Fox, May 16, 2022.

  1. Bordeaux_Fox

    Bordeaux_Fox

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    589

    Property (_AdditionalLightsColor) exceeds previous array size (256 vs 32). Cap to previous size. Restart Unity to recreate the arrays.
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)


    Why do we need to restart our editor? Imagine you freshly opened a heavy project that takes minutes to be loaded. Why can't Unity recreate this array at runtime? In 2021, where mostly everything triggers a "Reload assembly" this should not be impossible. :)
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2022
  2. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    2,266
    Nothing the editor can help unfortunately. It's the graphics driver that allocates the memory on the GPU. Changing the size of an already allocated array requires reinitializing the graphics pipeline entirely, which is why a restart is required.

    My guess is that this happens quite unintentionally. Possibly when switching target platforms?

    This is also part of the reason why you have to restart some games when changing certain graphics settings.
     
    trantrungnghia0603 likes this.
  3. frankliu1234

    frankliu1234

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Issues with switching platforms
     
    PushoN likes this.