Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Proper way(s) to obtain and use interpolated numeric data with formatting?

Discussion in 'Localization Tools' started by HippyJesus, Mar 17, 2023.

1. HippyJesus

HippyJesus

I'm attempting to use the localization package to return numeric data with formatting applied via interpolated strings, but I am having a weirdly hard time getting it to work. Full disclosure: I am a C# noob, so it's almost certainly user error and likely something very basic.

The goal is to use localized strings for displaying user data of various numeric types so they can be localized for the current locale if necessary (for multidigit values, currency, etc). A simple string interpolation like the following has been failing to obtain the data through the Localization system, no matter what I have tried:

Code (CSharp):
    1. $"{GameManager.GetUserStats().NumericData:N0}"
    I tried a few things: setting the string as shown up above in the table, calling it as a local variable (either as a string or referencing the script as a game object type local variable, making sure to only use one or the other), as well as calling the string directly from script just to make sure I was using the correct interpolated values.

The closest I have gotten when using the localization system is having the string display exactly as written if its not flagged as a smart string. Smart string version gives a "Could not evaluate the selector" error.