Search Unity

Promotion/Marketing Strategy

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by astracat111, Jul 31, 2018.

1. astracat111

astracat111

I want to preface this and say that I am not trying to plug or advertise anything that I'm creating, so I please ask that you just look over whatever I'm working on, as I want to discuss some realizations that I've had about marketing and advertising.

I've been working on games for over 10 years now in my spare time and for the past 2 years I've had this game that I've wanted to really get out there, working full time while holding part time jobs. I've learned some things along the way but I've always been pretty bad at promotion and marketing mainly.

So I've created this world where people battle using magic and martial arts, and the story is about this misfit kid who wants to get into this competitive school system. I'm making a lot of revisions to my strategy after watching to a lot more marketing lectures and reading a lot more articles.

The idea is that I'd like to run a successful kickstarter campaign around the project (somehow). If I don't do that, to finish it up as about 80% I'd say of the game is really finished, I would just take out a personal loan to pay for rent so I could work on it full time without the day job ("that's unadvisable" is probably coming I know...)

So about promotion....

There was a really good GDC talk I listened to named 'Making the World Give a Damn About Your Game in 2018'. In it there were a handful of key tips that I noted I've been missing. Mainly, he mentions that the thing about your game that you think is interesting isn't necessarily interesting.