Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. The 2023.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2023.1 feature highlights.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Project won't open from Unity Hub after upgrade and rename

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by Velo222, May 25, 2020.

  1. Velo222

    Velo222

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,436
    Hello,

    I just upgraded one of my projects from 2019.1 to 2020.1.0b9. Everything upgraded fine, and all looked good in this new beta version in the Editor. So I saved my project and closed it.

    Then I renamed the project folder to a different name. Loaded Unity Hub and added the project (which was just renamed) to the Unity Hub list again.

    But then when I click to load the project from the Hub, the project doesn't load. It does bring up the Unity splash screen, and says it's Initializing some things.... but the project never actually loads.

    I get this for a while and then nothing happens:
    UnityHub_2020.1_Prob1.jpg

    Is there some way to open my project if Unity Hub won't open it? Thanks.
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,324
    Start unity.exe via command line and pass the -projectPath as described here:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/CommandLineArguments.html

    But I doubt it makes a difference, Hub is probably doing the same.
     
  3. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8,792
    Probably, for starters, check the logs, where it stuck and you can find out what the problem is. I highly doubt it would be the rename, although they may have some weird behavior there, so who knows.
    You also can try to backup your project and erase the contents of the Library folder. This will cause to reimport everything in your project, so it will take a long time (depending on the number of assets in your project), but may solve your problem.
     
  4. Velo222

    Velo222

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,436
    Actually a good idea, that's kind of what I was looking for. But I tried it and it didn't work (unfortunately). It did seem like it did the same thing -- which is it will start to "Initialize Graphics...." and then it will simply exit and not do anything at all.

    How can I check the logs, sorry I'm not sure how to do that. Thanks. I will try that :)
     
  5. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8,792
    Velo222 likes this.
  6. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,045
    If this continues to be an issue, it would be great if you could submit a bug report for it.
     
    OmerPasa3328 and Velo222 like this.
  7. Velo222

    Velo222

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,436
    Ok thanks Leon.
     
  8. Velo222

    Velo222

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,436
    Well the very latest version of the beta (2020.1.0b10) actually fixed everything for me. My project upgraded just fine, and all of my prefabs are no longer missing (linked prefabs in the scene).

    Which is fantastic :)
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  9. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,045
    Glad this issue is resolved for you :)
     
  10. segant

    segant

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    I still get this crash. New projects works well but can't migrate from 2019.3 projects to any 2020 versions. I discovered that crash because of assets folder. I moved this to desktop then after i could open project and reimported all assets. Then i discovered i got error on firebase packages. I was using external dependency manager from here.
    https://github.com/googlesamples/unity-jar-resolver
    If this is not the reason then preview packages boolean may cause it. Because it was disabled. And i was using some preview packages. I think new unity package manager doesn't let google packages to show up.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2020
  11. namcap

    namcap

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Posts:
    37
    I have the same issue when upgrading from 2019.3 to the latest 2020.1 version. It sometimes hang on "Initializing graphics" for a second, then immediately closes Unity. Other times it hangs on "Initialize Asset Database" and then immediately closes.

    Some existing projects can be opened while others cannot.
     
  12. segant

    segant

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    I solved this with moving folders in asset folder to other location. Then opened project and reimported them with correct packages etc. When everything worked well i saved and quited and tried to reopen :( I can't open it again.

    As in editor log i think it's about shaders of urp but will try it if it cause it
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Preloading 0 native plugins for Editor in 0.00 ms.
    2. IsTimeToCheckForNewEditor: Update time 1591408103 current 1591411007
    3. Initialize engine version: 2020.2.0a13 (542ff463470b)
    4. [Subsystems] Discovering subsystems at path C:/Program Files/Unity/Hub/Editor/2020.2.0a13/Editor/Data/Resources/UnitySubsystems
    5. [Subsystems] Discovering subsystems at path C:/Users/Eray/Documents/Crazy FreeKicker/Crazy FreeKicker/Assets
    6. GfxDevice: creating device client; threaded=1
    7. Direct3D:
    8.     Version:  Direct3D 11.0 [level 11.0]
    9.     Renderer: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (ID=0x116)
    10.     Vendor:  
    11.     VRAM:     2032 MB
    12.     Driver:   9.17.10.4459
    13. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Universal Render Pipeline/Lit' - All passes removed
    14. WARNING: Shader Did you use #pragma only_renderers and omit this platform?
    15. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Universal Render Pipeline/Simple Lit' - All passes removed
    16. WARNING: Shader Did you use #pragma only_renderers and omit this platform?
    17. Shader 'Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/Lit': fallback shader 'Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/SimpleLit' not found
    18. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Universal Render Pipeline/Baked Lit' - All passes removed
    19. WARNING: Shader Did you use #pragma only_renderers and omit this platform?
    20. received signal from system: SIGSEGV
    21. Stack trace:
    22. 0x00007ff6454aacfc (Unity) StackWalker::GetCurrentCallstack
    23. 0x00007ff6454aed51 (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    24. 0x00007ff6467492d5 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    25. 0x00007ff6454aa5b6 (Unity) winutils::CrashHandler::DefaultSignalHandler
    26. 0x00007ff648339439 (Unity) seh_filter_exe
    27. 0x00007ff648a07889 (Unity) `__scrt_common_main_seh'::`1'::filt$0
    28. 0x00007ff648309f18 (Unity) _C_specific_handler
    29. 0x00007ffbcdba11cf (ntdll) _chkstk
    30. 0x00007ffbcdb6a209 (ntdll) RtlRaiseException
    31. 0x00007ffbcdb9fe3e (ntdll) KiUserExceptionDispatcher
    32.  
    33. Crash!!!
    34. SymInit: Symbol-SearchPath: '.;C:\Users\Eray\Documents\Crazy FreeKicker\Crazy FreeKicker;C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2020.2.0a13\Editor;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32;SRV*C:\websymbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols;', symOptions: 534, UserName: 'Eray'
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
  13. segant

    segant

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    After deleting shadercache and disabling in editor settings with notepad. I get again i think its about switchable graphics or laptop graphic card driver problem. Because shader warning didn't occur.

    [Update]
    At last i did after removing urp asset in assets. Yeah older urp asset or shader variant file cause this :D

    Now 100% sure shader variant file cause this :D Finding this caused me lots of works but at last i discovered. If you will create again , remove it from preload section. I hope they will fix it
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
  14. Fewes

    Fewes

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Posts:
    256
    I get this too on 2020.1.0b12 and 2020.2.0a13 with URP. I can start the project up once if I delete the entire Library folder but clearing just the shader cache didn't work for me. Here's the stack trace:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. 0x00007FF6D47DD3F9 (Unity) GetRenderPipelineScript
    2. 0x00007FF6D47E8A47 (Unity) ScriptableRenderContext::ShouldUseRenderPipeline
    3. 0x00007FF6D726B52C (Unity) ShouldGenerateTiersForSnippet
    4. 0x00007FF6D4ABBF96 (Unity) ShaderLab::Program::CompileShaderSubProgram
    5. 0x00007FF6D4ABE240 (Unity) ShaderLab::Program::GetMatchingSubProgram
    6. 0x00007FF6D4AC5A6D (Unity) ShaderLab::ShaderState::FindSubProgramsToUse
    7. 0x00007FF6D4AC3F1D (Unity) ShaderLab::ShaderState::ApplyShaderState
    8. 0x00007FF6D4AB3D1D (Unity) ShaderLab::Pass::ApplyPass
    9. 0x00007FF6D4AA1459 (Unity) DrawVBOChunkWithPass
    10. 0x00007FF6D4AB0B60 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupOneShaderImpl
    11. 0x00007FF6D4AB1509 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupShadersImpl
    12. 0x00007FF6D4AB0EA2 (Unity) ShaderVariantCollection::WarmupShaders
    13. 0x00007FF6D435EBC1 (Unity) GraphicsSettings::WarmupPreloadedShaders
    14. 0x00007FF6D49160D1 (Unity) InitializeEngineGraphics
    15. 0x00007FF6D5B9ECC5 (Unity) Application::InitializeProject
    16. 0x00007FF6D63A7C1B (Unity) WinMain
    17. 0x00007FF6D7FFB036 (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    18. 0x00007FFE24353034 (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    19. 0x00007FFE24951551 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
    I also submitted a bug report (Case 1256410). Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2020
    OmerPasa3328 likes this.
  15. gdespaux2010

    gdespaux2010

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    Just want to say this obscure error got me after going to package manager and upgrading URP from 7.3 -> 7.4.

    Only somewhat helpful line in the Editor.log file was:


    Shader 'Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/Lit': fallback shader 'Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/SimpleLit' not found
    Crash!!!


    Fixed by following the advice above about removing the shadervariants from the preload section. Open your GraphicsSettings.asset in a text editor and change the m_PreloadedShaders section to:


    m_PreloadedShaders:
    - {}


    and save. Unity should boot up now!
     
    Fewes, gitlinjoss and segant like this.
  16. gitlinjoss

    gitlinjoss

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    This worked for me. Thank you very much! :)
     
    gdespaux2010 likes this.
  17. Fewes

    Fewes

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Posts:
    256
    This worked for me as well! A fix for the error is in the works, apparently: https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...-project-contains-a-shader-variant-collection
     
    kihwan_kim and gdespaux2010 like this.
  18. mohamedkaram09

    mohamedkaram09

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I'm having this same issue on Unity 2020.3.6f1 (LTS). Project crashes when it's loading (initializing asset database...). It just suddenly crashes with no warnings of any kind. I'm able to resolve this manually by deleting the library folder every time I open an existing project, but this is tedious. Unity pls fix.